We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is very cosy, cute and nicely decorated!Is within a walking distance from the centre of Amsterdam and there is also a tram stop in front of the hotel so the location is very good. I satyed there for only one night but i really enjoyed my stay there. The stuff was very friendly and professional, the room was very nice, clean ,warm and there was also a small court yard that you could go outside and smoke. I would choose this hotel again and i would definetely suggest it to friends.
As for the cons , the price was normal for Amsterdam but not cheap (almost 90€ for a double room) and i strongly believe that breakfast should be included in the price. I paid for the breakfast 14,5€ which was a terrible mistake as this breakfast was one of the worst i had in my life (and i had breakfast in many many hotels all over the world) as it was very very basic and for sure even if you ate everything from the buffet it wouldn't cost that much. Also the refill of the bread basket was very slow. I felt it was kind of ripp off . But apart from that everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
You enjoyed the comfort of the room. As we just renovated all of them that is great to hear, as well as your compliment to the team!

But we are sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. I suggest that next time you book the breakfast in advance, that gives you an instant discount of € 4,- per person.
We bake the bread on site, therefore it might happen you have to wait 8-10 minutes in order to get steaming hot fresh rolls. You were very like in between a baking session. Furthermore the continental buffet consists of croissants, cheese, coldcuts, yoghurt, cereals, jams and 'hagelslag', boiled eggs, fresh fruits, selection of juices and milk, brownies, porridge, dried fruits and of course tea & coffee & hot chocolate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    178
    47
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
213
87
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had chosen this hotel through the recommendation of a friend that lived nearby. It is in a perfect location for touring the city. You are within walking distance of the museum district and the wonderful Rijksmuseum, which is a must-see. You are also within a 5 minute walk of the nearest tram station and that opens up the rest of the city to you. The location is also wonderful because it is not in the loud and bustling centre of the city but in an extremely well to do and quiet neighbourhood very close to the lovely Vondelpark, which is a beautiful, green area where Amsterdammers go to run, walk their dogs and relax. Like all Amsterdam buildings, you have to be prepared for the stairs in the hotel. The decor was very fresh and new and inviting. The staff looked after us perfectly and were really helpful with ideas for places to eat and things to go and see. They were also able to get us tickets to a couple of the museums on line so that we didn't have to wait in some of the long lines. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were very clean and warm. Normally, the price of the hotel is the biggest thing in your holiday budget but the price here was very reasonable and made the stay even more pleasant. They don't have a hotel restaurant (there are so many restaurants in the neighbourhood already) but they do a nice continental breakfast. We had a magical Christmas break in Amsterdam and will be coming back!

Room Tip: If you have troubles with stairs, there are rooms one flight up or down but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a couple who spent several sunny springs staying at the Neighbor's Magnolia when it was then called the Hotel Zandbergen, we are greatly pleased that the new owners have honored the tradition of hospitality, and expanded the comfort of the hotel at the same time. The recent remodel has brightened its character without removing the essence of the hotel. The inviting lobby design makes for gentle laughter and enjoyment whether lingering over the delicious breakfast with yet one more cup of coffee, or sharing a glass of wine and snacks after a glorious day in the city or nearby environs. If you knew Henk, you will appreciate the small framed photo unobtrusively resting on a side table, his smile surely showing contentment that his future vision of the hotel has come to fruition. Members of the previous staff continue at the Neighbor's Magnolia, their knowledge to include the ins and outs of Amsterdam, good places to eat, and the willingness to do an Internet search to answer any questions you might have. I think the hotel could have easily been named "The Friendly Magnolia," for its charming staff. Of course, for one who wondered to what I would to return to given the passing of Henk, previous owner, I have elaborated my delight upon finding my old standby to be as dependable as ever for an excellent stay in Amsterdam. As well, it is in a fantastic location to reach my favorite art museums, and any other Amsterdam sights that tickle your fancy. Of course, we will return to The Neighbor's Magnolia whenever we can. It is our go-to place in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I found room to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMagnolia, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, also about Henk. His amazing hospitality is still an example and inspiration for all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This Hotel is an ideal base if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam busier areas. It is only across the road from Vondelpark which leads into Leiderspein area this is probably about 10 to 15 mins walk. By night a tram stops almost outside costing 2.70 euros each. There are a couple of italian restaurants close by. The hotel was very clean, quiet and all the staff very helpful especially Tessa. I would recommend this hotel but probably if I was to go again I would stay in the Museumplein area. Due to the steep stairs this is not suitable for anybody with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Quiet neighborhood. Great restaurants in the vicinity. We had to travel quite far in various directions, and found it easy to get tram and bus transport within walking distance from the hotel. Friendly service, clean rooms. Room and bathroom size big enough for 2-3 night business stay. The stairs are a "killer" if you have a big suitcase, but al-in all a good experience. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice hotel, in a calm street, all was clean, people friendly, breakfast was good with choice. Nice position outside the animated heart of the city but very near the museums area, the vondelpark... You can get to the center city in 5-10 minutes by tram or bike (the hotel can rent you bikes)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Eigenaar at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Great to read your review, merci!

The hotel is indeed very well placed for travellers who want something different than just the hustle and bustle of the busy center. Being located in Amsterdam Oud-Zuid we offer a glimpse of real life in Amsterdam on the doorstep of the museums. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean and welcoming where the staff are very helpful. Conveniently situated near to the Vondelpark in a nice area of town. Good restaurants in the vicinity. Easy travel to the centre, museums and Leidsplein by tram or walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.