We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is a good budget hotel in a very nice neighbourhood a bit outside the city centre, but with easy access with tram 2 or even walking (about 20 min). The museumplein was only a 10 min walk away. Vondelpark is next to the hotel if one likes a run.
Only note is that the hotel has very steep steps going up to the rooms and no lift so if you have diffculties climbing stairs this is not your hotel.

I stayed on the 2nd floor in room 18. The room was nice and very quiet. Clean and had all the basic amenities you would need. I did not have breakfast, but it looked okay, normal hotel breakfast.
The bed was a bit on the soft side for me, but then again this is a matter of taste and did not distrub my sleep. You could see some wear and tear, but also some efforts of redecoration. The staff was helpful and efficient.

All in all I would recommed this hotel to anyone who does not mind steep stairs and is looking for a nice budget hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    173
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
92
203
86
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyandotte, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Zandbergen last summer when I needed a good price for adding two family memers to my business trip accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised at the comfortable room we had for 3 people. The breakfast is a great price, especially considering the outrageous prices most business hotels charge. Other services, such as laundry, were so reasonable, all of which makes it so much more comfortable to be away from home. Not the least of this property's charm is the charming neighborhood. It's tucked away in a quiet corner of Amsterdam, yet not too far from the hustle and bustle of the inner city shopping and sights. Right on the Tram 2 line, it couldn't be more convenient to get to the main attractions in the city center. Yet it is 10 minutes walk from the Van Gogh and Reijks Museums. The neighborhood has many wonderful restaurants that are far removed from the tourist fare available in other parts of the city. I feel so at home, and to me that is a very critical aspect when I travel abroad so often. I liked it so well, I went back in November on another business trip. The stairs, which are traditional to historic Dutch housing, are not for the faint hearted, but the staff is more than willing to cart your luggage up and down for you. Polite, friendly, clean, modern. Can't say enough about this great gem in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Both rooms I had were nice. If you're traveling alone, pay the extra for a double room--single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It was great seeing you again at the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Good breakfast selection, excellent location right beside a metro station. Super nice staff. Rooms are nice and functional. Would definitely recommend this place!!!!! The only downside is that they don't have a water kettle

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment.

And for future reference, we do have coffee and tea making facilities, just ask our reception team to bring it up to the room, we do so with pleasure! The same goes for Iron and iron boards, personal fridges, additional closets etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very clean comfortable room, with a pleasant helpful staff, made for a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.
Location of the hotel was in a very nice upscale neighborhood. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent location in a quiet residential area. Convenient for Reiksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.Easy walk to pick up canal boat bus service opposite Reiksmuseum. Several nice restaurants and cafes close by.Hotel staff were friendly polite and helpful. We had a twin room on the second floor @ the rear of the hotel overlooking some gardens. The room was quite small but adequate for our needs,a pity there was no tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Room no 9 on second floor, no lift and staircase is very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Good to hear that you used the hotel as a base for your museum visits and that you enjoyed the neighbourhood like a local!

With respect to our coffee & tea making facilities, should you come back , do let us know in advance, we are more than happy to put it in the room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just what we were looking for: nice, quiet, clean hotel near to the museum quarter. Trams are very close and you can get to the museums and the central station off this tram line very easily. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were recently refurbished - very nice - and the corridors were repainted whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for lower rooms if you have difficulty with steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great little hotel in a lovely quiet residential area. The tram runs literally outside the hotel, but everything seems to be mere minutes away (the museums are all about 15 mins walk from the hotel), and staff showed us how to get to places we wanted to go. I think rooms are in the middle of a refurb so can't comment on the furniture but we had a studio apartment which was lovely (felt very Amsterdam-y), with little balcony, really comfy beds and a flatscreen TV. Room was made up and cleaned every day with fresh towels etc. Staff really friendly and helpful. Recommended for anyone who wants to be a stones throw from the action but can retreat to the quiet if necessary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.