We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great plage to stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Alesund, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great plage to stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location for a weekend in Amsterdam. Close to vondelpark and running. Friendly staff. New and nicely styled room. We had a great stay and will be back at Hotel Zandbergen Wien visiting Amsterdam next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    172
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
92
202
85
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very pleased with the hotel. Friendly welcome. Small rooms but clean and clear. Correct breakfast. located in a very calm town quarter next to Vondel park and lots of transport facilities to go to town center or airport. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel feels like home. The staff is friendly and nothing is to much to meet your demands. For us the location was good reachable by public transport and there were plenty places to eat or to have a drink in the more uptown atmosphere. The rooms are not big or modern, but everything you need to have a good night sleep is at hand. The museums are at walking distance, approx 10 minuten. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to our friends as a little gem.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are the most quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location was very good for sightseeing, staff was extremely friendly, supportive and helpful, the room was very fine and clean. Possibly the quietest hotel room I've ever stayed in. For me a faultless hotel, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
On behalf of the team, thank you very much for your compliments. Glad you enjoyed the quiet room facing the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

At the beginning the accomodation was not what we were looking for and nor a room we paid for. They had given us a room that looked like a deserted attic, dirty and with a weird man inside that was repairing an air conditioner on the terrace ... (in practice we had to wait until he had finished the work ...). No comment ... After having discussed the room, they have given another room larger than the first one, truly a study room ...) but nothing nice! The location of hotel is good and well connected, but considering the price, 100 euros per night without breakfast for an room, however I don' t recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managementHZ, Owner at Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I'm sorry to read you didn't enjoy the superior room you booked in our hotel. You first room was indeed on the top floor, offering beautiful views of the neighbourhood through the large windows. It was probably the sloping wall on the one side that reminded you of an attic. The second room was extremely spacious and with a high ceiling (3.20 mtr) and has been repainted and got new carpet only a few weeks ago.
After taking over from the previous owner my business partner and I have invested a large amount of money and energy in renovating the rooms and public area of the hotel, we expect to finish within the next week. Obviously not to everyone's liking, but it is a fact you cannot please all guests when it comes to interior design.
What we are sure about is the personalised service we give to all our guests, just like we helped you e.g. with your luggage and had a brief chat before you left Amsterdam. That should be to everybody’s liking, just like the central location as you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was right in line with what we paid. The rate was very reasonable and the size is what you'd expect from a lot of cheaper European hotels: Small. I visited Amsterdam with my wife for three days/two nights and we weren't trying to spend much time in the hotel. The room had a (somewhat uncomfortable) bed, a private bathroom, a TV, a desk, and a window with not much of a view. They served a decent breakfast and the staff was very friendly through our stay. They also stored our bags for us while we went out the last day after we checked out. My only complaint would be that the bathroom was a little dirty. The toilet could have a little extra TLC on the last clean.

There was nothing overly spectacular about the location, being a mile or so away from most of the excitement. Quite honestly, though, that made us see even more of the city, b/c we likely would have not ventured into these parts and stayed closer to the hub of town had we not stayed at this place. I actually liked that aspect of it.

All in all a great place considering the price. It's not luxurious, but it is far from shady or dirty. Great value/great bang for your buck if you're just looking for a place to rest your head. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Ringkobing, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A nice hotel in the middle of town, close to transportation (trams) and with a parking service that costed only 8 € a day (2 km. away - transportation paid).
Good service at the hotel, fine rooms (got a free update).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.