We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, kind owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, kind owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Despite the narrow stairs (no elevator) and small bathroom, this hotel was fantastic! The owner provided us with the best service of any hotel I had ever stayed at; he even gave us a pair of mini porcelain clogs on a keychain! He was always willing to provide directions and told us to visit the pizza place next to the library (which was fantastic). Moreover, the hotel was placed next to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, not to mention the tram stop (basically in front of the hotel).

Other reviewers have complained about the price, but it is in a prime location, and most hotels in Amsterdam are incredibly expensive.

I hope you found this review helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    166
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
197
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is fine. If we could give it 3½ stars we would. It is located some way out of the centre in a pleasant residential area and is on a tram route. It's close to the Vondelpark that offers an alternative and pleasant way of walking into town. There are quite a few restaurants nearby. Most are Italian. It's a typical Dutch small hotel with steep narrow stairs, no lifts, no room tea and coffee making facilities and friendly, courteous service with a smile. Our room on the front was spacious with newly refurbished ensuite facilities that were a bit small. There was some noise from the fairly busy road outside but it didn't disturb us. The breakfast room was light and airy and though the breakfast choice was somewhat limited, it was quite adequate and wholesome except for perhaps the cheese which always seemed to be a bit dry around the edges. There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms which was good. The hotel is not cheap and you should check in advance that the 5% city tax is included in the agreed price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On the positive side. the hotel room was clean. However, the negatives prevail. Far to walk or the need to take a tram to the center. Overpriced for what it is (140 Eur plus city tax without breakfast). Noisy room facing the street. Very poor internet connection. Narrow stairs to climb without any lift. Very uncomfortable mattress.

Room Tip: Book a garden facing room if you can. Avoid if you are disabled, have problems walking and climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The place is nothing to much, it's pretty simple, and the location is not on the city centre. But... It's close enough of the center and you can easily get the tram on the stations nearby.

The price is good considering the hotels in Amsterdam and the staff is really great.

The breakfast included is also a plus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Celebrated our 25th anniversary in Amsterdam and my husband booked this hotel with a request for flowers to greet me in our room. The Hotel staff were lovely and did all they could to make our stay the special occasion that it was. They added little hearts to decorate the room, and towels were folded into heart shapes & we had a free chilled sparkling wine.

We were there for 3 nights and were very comfortable. Plenty to eat for breakfast and were met every day with smiling staff sorting out refreshment requests. We were asked everyday how we were enjoying our stay in Amsterdam. Had to ask for extra tea and coffee as this wasn't help yourself.

No question about what, where, when etc was too much trouble and restaurants were booked within minutes of us requesting for them to do this on our behalf.

I would have ticked 'excellent' but I'm used to staying in UK B&B's so I was disappointed not to have free tea and coffee in our rooms.

We loved the location of the hotel being directly on the No2 tram route making a trip into the city centre hassle free - also a lovely walk when the sun came out, going through Vondelpark, which is a stones throw from the hotel.

'I am Amsterdam' cards made life easy with 'free' access into so many museums plus a travel card for all our tram journeys (we didn't need to use the metro or buses locally but these would have been included in the card) and hotel staff were very helpful in answering any questions about these places to confirm if it was what we expected.

Thank you Zandbergen for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: steps to 1st & 2nd floors are quite narrow and steep around the corners room was quiet at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just back from a four night stay with husband and two young sons. I think I had expected too much going by most of the other reviews making this place out to be better than it is. After the city tax and breakfasts were added on I didn't get much change out of 700 euros.... simply not worth it.

The good points - it was clean and quiet. The towels smelt lovely and the room temperature was nice and warm despite it being baltic outside. Close to the Vondelpark which my kids enjoyed.

The negative - too far out, not on most of the maps we got. Overpriced for what you get. Breakfast was ok but had to ask each morning for more eggs, bread etc when they had run out. Also I think charging young kids over 7 euros each for breakfast is ridiculous especially when one of my sons ate only half a croissant - quite an expensive croissant!

The staff were ok, definitely not the mega friendly others have said and never really even spoke to our kids or asked if we were enjoying our stay. We asked for advice about going to Anne Frank's house and were told to look online!! Also they forgot to give us clean bath towels one day.

We stayed in the basement quad room and only had one flight of steep steps to go up and down.

Overall, Amsterdam is a lovely yet expensive city. Was suprised at how much most places charge for kids eg into museums, zoo and they don't seem to do kids meals in restaurants so just paid for adult portion. We felt safe the whole time which is a real plus. The dutch people we met out and about were helpful and friendly. I would return to Amsterdam but not to Hotel Zandbergen and probably without my kids to keep the cost down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hotel Zandbergen was ideal for a week's stay over Christmas. Staff were all friendly and helpful and breakfasts substantial. Good value for money. It is not in the historical centre, but Tram 2 just outside is frequent and takes you where you need to go including the main station. Several of the main museums and the Concertgebouw are an easy walk from the hotel as is the Vondel Park. Surrounding streets have lots of places to eat and drink and shop. Delightful late 19th C architecture in the surrounding residential area. Understand that there is no lift and the stairs, as in most Dutch houses of the period, are very steep indeed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.