We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good breakfast and quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Clean room, good breakfast and quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Myself and a couple of mates visited amsterdam and stayed in a triple room in the basement at the front of the hotel. The room was very clean and the single beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and reasonably spacious.

Breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals, juices, youghurt, cheeses, meats, fruits, croissants and rolls. On the second day they even had chocolate brownies!

The hotel is located on tramline 2 near vondel park and there is a tramstop outside the entrance. It is about a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh Musuem. It was therefore not in the centre so fairly quiet at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    173
    42
    18
    5
See reviews for
92
203
85
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel was in a perfect location for us. A 15 minute walk took you into the nearest station for the 'water bus'. On arrival at the hotel (late arrival) the lady at the reception was extremely helpful. Our room was perfect for us - a little small - but managable with ensuite facilities. Breakfast was great, with a selection of cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit basket, breads, croissants, ham and cheese - wonderful coffee !! Great value for money. The staff were very helpful, giving advice on tourist attractions and supplied us with a map. You can purchase tickets for some of the museums, etc at the hotel, which saved us standing in a queue for the VanGogh museum. When in Amsterdam, buy the 24 hr hop-on, hop-off ticket which takes you around the waterways of the city and from there you can get your bearings as to the proximity of one attraction is to another. Anne Frank's house and the VanGogh museum is a must. The streets off Dam Sq are fabulous for shopping. Wonderful restaurants to suit all tastes opposite the Central Station waterbus - opposite the Grasshopper hotel, which leads into the redlight district. The hotel also offers taxi transfers to the airport at a set rate - we paid 40 euros on our arrival at the airport but on our departure, the hotel arranged the transfer and the rate had been set at 30 euros. Definately a great hotel in a quiet location but within walking distance to the main city centre.

Room Tip: Stairs within the hotel (like most buildings in Amsterdam) are steep. So if you don't like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a hotel in a typical Amsterdam house, so expect narrow and quite steep stairs. A quiet residential area with some shops and restaurants, about 10-15 minutes by tram (the stop very close to hotel) from the city center and just 2-3 stops from the major museums. The staff is exceptionally friendly - carried our bags up the stairs even though we said we were fine on our own, remembered our morning coffee and tea orders, offered tea free of charge every evening we came soaked with rain back to the hotel, helped with all questions and even gave us tips for a quicker route to the airport. The room I stayed in was on the small side, but clean, with a recently renovated bathroom, comfortable bed, WI-FI, minibar, hairdryer, small tv. Breakfast includes freshly baked warm rolls and croissants, toast, cheese, ham, hard-boiled eggs, jams, sweet spreads and several kinds of fruit. I slept well, felt taken care of and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: All singles face the street and, although noise level is very low, trams can be sometimes heard. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We recently got back from a lovely trip in Amsterdam with our family. My boyfriend, his Dad, my grandma and I all stayed at Hotel Zandbergen for nine nights. Originally we were planning to stay in Amsterdam for only four nights and the rest was going to be in Germany so we could enjoy the Christmas Markets. Well, on the second night we asked Hank if we could move to a lower floor because the steep stairs were very difficult for my grandma (no elevators). Hank gave us an offer we couldn't refuse. He showed us an apartment that was two stories and approximately 1600 sq. ft. This place was amazing! We loved the apartment so much that we extended our stay five more days. Instead of staying in Germany, Hank suggested we rent a car (gave us all of the information and prices) and take a drive to Germany for the day. That's just what we did. The rental car ended up being much less than train tickets and the drive was beautiful. Hank also suggested Brugge, Belgium so we visited there one day. Those two days were probably the best two days that we had the entire trip.

Additional Info: The breakfast consists of cold cuts, delicious fresh croissants and hard rolls, juice, cereal, fruit, coffee and tea. If is included with the price of the hotel. Whenever we were looking for something to do Hank was always offering terrific suggestions. He helped us with a car rental, with the parking, tram information, with where to visit in the city as well as outside of the city. Without Hank, we would have missed several wonderful places.

Overall we truly enjoyed our vacation thanks to Hank. The day we left he brought my grandma and I Holland shoe ornaments and even emailed us the next day and thanked us. If you enjoy exceptional service and a great location, choose Hotel Zandbergen.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in Nov 2011. Our apartment was well equipped with an attached kitchen with all amenities, living space with sofa-set, center table, book-shelf with audio system, dining/working table, comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom with a bath-tub.

The strongest point of this hotel was their staff who were very friendly and helpful. On one occasion, when we were trying to book train tickets on-line and the website was not accepting non-European credit cards, one of the staff gladly booked the tickets for us using her own funds. (Of course we did reimburse her in cash).

As the hotel did not have elevators, all our heavy luggage was carried through the stairs by the hotel staff, which I think is not too common in Europe.

The location of the hotel is in a quiet and peaceful locality with tram stops within close vicinity and cabs available just round the corner.

The owner, Mr Henk and his wonderful staff do deserve a round of applause for their effort to keep their guests comfortable and happy. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Apartments are simply wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is a little far out but the number 2 tram stops almost right outside of the door within 5 minutes of the Leidseplein. Friendly staff and free internet. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel Zandbergen is away from the busiest part of Amsterdam in a quiet and leafy part of town. The disadvantage of this is that either a tram ride or a 20-30 minute walk was required to get to the canals and many of the sites. The advantages were avoiding the crowds and a quiet nights sleep! Henk deserves a round of applause for the fantastic service he provides at Hotel Zandbergen. He went out of his way to ensure I was happy and comfortable and even presented me with a small gift on departure. The room was small but comfortable and clean. Two small gripes; the single bed linen didn't really fit the king single bed and the room was really quite warm overnight with no means to control the temperature apart from opening the window. The breakfast was generous and offered variety. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.