We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zandbergen, every thing that is good about a small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sitting Down
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Zandbergen, every thing that is good about a small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We've stayed at the Zandbergen for years. Henk took over a few years back & continued the high standard of personal service set by the previous owners. All the staff seem to really care about the guests & this is what makes this a great place to stay. The rooms may be small by international standards but this is not unusualfor Amsterdam. The rooms are well equipped & spotless.
The Zandbergen is on a quiet street with a stop for the no. 2 tram near by, this gives easy access to all that Amsterdam has to offer. In the imediate area is the Vondal Park & loads of excelent place to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    178
    46
    21
    7
See reviews for
94
213
86
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 days in October and our only complaint was that our visit was too short! Hotel's staff is exemplary and the location is perfect. The hotel is within walking distance from Museumplein and Vondelpark, on a quiet street, with Tram 2 stop nearby to take you to the City's Center in just minutes. The staff is very friendly and helpful, whether serving delicious breakfast, helping with directions, dinner reservations or printing our boarding passes. So, if you visit Amsterdam, stay at Zandbergen, I sure will when I return to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We just spent 6 days here and , after combing the city, agreed that we would not have wanted to stay in any other area. The hotel itself was perfect for our needs and Henk sets a brilliant standard for service and care.
We were in a small room, downstairs in the back, which opened onto a garden and was very quiet and comfortable. Any requests were quickly and cheerfully accommodated. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee is really good ( a must for me!) If I return to Amsterdam I would want to stay here again. There is an excellent small cafe just half a block away and many more restaurants within 10 minutes walk. And the tram stop is extremely convenient. We arrived by train and took the tram directly from Centraal Station to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Staff and owner were helpful from the moment we walked in. The stairs are steep but that didn't keep the beautiful young blonde at the desk from carrying our heaviest suitcase up the stairs for us. The rooms are small like most European rooms, but extremely clean and well organized. Great bathrooms. Located on a beautiful tree lined street. Tram stop very near and Airport shuttle delivers you to the door. Great breakfast and the owner brings coffee and the paper to your table. There are fantastic museums walking distance away and a great Italian restaurant, too. We had a problem our last day, as the airport shuttle did not show up to pick us up. We had cut our time pretty close to get to the airport. The owner watched what was happening and made calls to check on the shuttle. He decided we needed a cab because it was running so late. He came out to the street and gave us money for the cab. What a relief! We knew we may have a problem with the fare since we were headed back to the US and had used most of our Euros. He must have assumed the same thing. There was an accident on the way to the airport and the ramp was closed. We had to take a bit longer route. Without his money, we would not have been able to pay the fare. You can bet that when we return to Amsterdam this will be our home.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, this may not be the place for you. However, the staff is very helpful with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My husband & I have just come back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Zandbergen. We travelled with 3 other couples & everyone agreed that the hotel was great. I booked via email & everything was very clear & easy, I think Hank specialises in making things clear & easy, on arrival each couple was given a note with details of cost, straightforward explanation of the room/door key with breakfast & checkout times.
The rooms are small & well designed with comfortable beds & good toiletries. We had the only room on the main first floor which is the room with the least stairs and has sliding floor to ceiling windows which look out over a little green oasis of a courtyard which the downstairs rooms have access to.
Hank, Adele and all of the staff are very helpful, information on trains, booking tickets for Van Gogh museum & reserving restaurant tables, nothing was a problem.

There is nice little sitting area with free computer access and gentle classical music playing.

The Continental breakfast was good with plenty of choice including warm boiled eggs & tasty granary bread to make your own toast.

The location close to Vondel Park with quiet bars & restaurants is excellent and Tram 2 virtually stops outside.

Highly recommended

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less tram noise, the rooms downstairs have a lovely outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, Nc
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The Hotel Zandbergen is a fairly small family-owned hotel on Tram Line 2 close to the art museums. Our twin room was small but the bathroom had a lovely shower, plenty of ledges for storing things, free WiFi and room and bathroom were immaculate. The breakfast is quite generous: wonderful Dutch cheeses, ham, croissants, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices, even brownies! The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely willing to make sure guests have a good experience in the city. Prices (for Amsterdam) were reasonable considering breakfast is included and booking online apparently saves. The neighborhood has some very good restaurants and is leafy and quiet. Beds are very comfortable too.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and we struck lucky staying at the Zandbergen. Very good location, close to Van Gogh museum - tram stops very close by. Henk and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful and recommended how to get around and places to visit. I stayed with 3 friends in a quad room, very clean, very nice roomy bathroom with shower over bath, breakfast was good. Am quite fussy about where to put my head down but would definately stay here again and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Quad room was on ground floor (stairs down to it) - had a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.