We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in quiet area close to centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in quiet area close to centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Staying at this hotel is a very pleasant experience. Nice room (No 5 with a spacious balcony), helpful and pleasant staff, breakfast included - which is uncommon in Amsterdam. Nice area, many small cafes and restaurants in the side streets, small shops with not as many customers as in central Amsterdam. 5 minutes with tram line 2 to Leidseplein, 15 minutes to Central Station. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    166
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
197
80
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was a nice place to stay, clean, comfortable. We enjoyed our little garden outside our room and staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and assisting our stay in amsterdam. Beds were on the small side and not good for someone with a bad back, but the wifi worked well and is a good location in a quieter area of amsterdam about a 20 minute tram ride from the central station. Would recommend to a friend,or anyone looking for good priced accommodation just a small distance away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower level as there is a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very clean and comfortable accommodations. Easy access to center of town by foot or tram. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They treated our kids ( 11 and 13) like family. Nice continental style breakfast included every morning. They will even do laundry for you if needed.The staff make you feel extremely welcome and comfortable immediately . Highly recommended for families or anyone. First class all the way with no communication issues as all staff speak english. Booked through Expedia and no hiddden costs or surprises at check out.We would absolutely stay at this hotel again for sure.. 5 star service and first class staff!!!! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We spent two nights here during our honeymoon. At the beginning it turned out that we got an apartment in a standard room rate. Very nice gesture from the hotel. Then it was even better. Henk - the owner is a very helpful man. Next to the hotel is a beautiful park and a tram stop, from where you can get everywhere. Very tasty breakfast. Nothing was missing. On the second day we got two bikes for free, and we quickly and conveniently visited lots of places. Before leaving the hotel we received a gift from the owner and according to his words - we hanged it in our house - for luck in our future life. Thank you Henk. All the best to you too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in AMS for 2.5 days and chose this cute hotel. Location was perfect and great for us because it was in the quiet part of the city and yet you can catch the tram across the hotel and it would only take about 8 mins to get to the center. Walking to the museums from the hotel was perfect. It was a 7 minute walk to the VanGogh and another 5 mins to the Rijks. We were a block away from the Vondelpark if you preferred to sit and enjoy the sun (when it would come out). The people at the front desk (all of them) were very helpful and they all gave a sense of hominess. The hotel was very clean and yet very relaxed in their approach to receiving guests. Our room was spacious and had a nice balcony with chairs. Unfortunately, it was a bit chilly to sit outside when we were there. The room and bathrooms were very clean but the bath towels were a bit small for me. Breakfast was basic. There was no hot food but the selection of cereals, cheeses, meats and breads were delightful and sufficient. Coffee was fresh all the time. There was also an available computer and free internet connection that I found most convenient. This way, you don't need to bring a laptop but can use one when necessary at no cost. Security in the area and at the hotel was not a problem.

Henk is a very helpful manager with a good sense of humor. He thought of everything and saw to it his guests had all they needed to know, even details on what to be careful with. He even negotiated a good taxi rate for us to get back to the airport. To and from the airport from the hotel was about 15-20 mins.

Another plus for me is that closeby, there are nice cafes and small shops that were not crowded at all. The pharmacy and the church were also very close. It made one feel very at home.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Zandbergen and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton, ga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Conveniently located, bus stop very close to hop on to all the sites. But it is close enough to walk to everything if you are in decent physical shape. Our room faced the street and heard no street noise. Had a very nice breakfast each morning. Food like everything else in Amsterdam is expensive.The owner is a great host, very friendly and helpful with sightseeing information. Room on the small side but clean and had very comfortable bed. The stairs are very narrow and very steep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The rooms are small and plain, but everything else is top notch.

The proprieter and staff really make you feel at home and are extremely helpful.

The neighborhood is upscale , quiet, and interesting w/ lots of shops and restaurants. The museams are a short walk or easy tram ride.

Nice breakfast in their small dining area.

Good value.

Room Tip: Some rooms very small. Ask for larger room. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia

Address: Willemsparkweg 205, 1071 HB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Zandbergen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy boutique hotel The Neighbour’s Magnolia (formerly Hotel Zandbergen) features 21 restyled modern rooms in soft pastel tones, with large beds, a desk with a brightly coloured HAY chair and a flat-screen TV. Each room has a private bathroom with shower or bath. Some rooms have a balcony or terrace overlooking the garden. We can put a private mini fridge on request in your room, as well as tea and coffee making facilities . Many additional features you can just take yourself from the colourful hallways. For our single (female) travelers , we have created a comfortable and above all safe environment. The hotel itself is in located in a typical Amsterdam listed building from the early 1900s in residential Amsterdam Oud-Zuid and is one of the few independent and privately owned hotels in Amsterdam.The homely LivingRoom with reception service is furnished and decorated with a unique combination of vintage and contemporary pieces of HAY furniture. Here guests can enjoy our continental breakfast. Complimentary tea , coffee and mineral water is waiting for you upon arrival. From the Honesty Bar in the casual setting of the LivingRoom guests can enjoy a Nespresso coffee, soft drinks, beer, wines, savoury and sweet snacks. Many excellent restaurants are located just outside the hotel on the Cornelis Schuytstraat or on the Willemsparkweg.Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge. Tickets to various attractions in the area you can get at the front desk where you can also rent a bike (and a packed lunch if you like). By the way, dogs are very welcome too.The famous art-packed Museum Quarter is a 10-minute walk away and houses the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and the Stedelijk Museum. It’s also close to the renown and exclusive shopping area of the P.C. Hooftstraat. The Amsterdam canal area is easily accessible on foot or by public transport. The tranquil Vondelpark and the Leidseplein entertainment area offer an amusing stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zandbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.