We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creepy man at reception” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“creepy man at reception”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love Amsterdam, i have been 3 times in the past year. This was by far the worst hotel i have EVER been to. We arrived on the Friday, we were told check in was available until 10pm. we landed in amsterdam, went for a few drinks and really got into the fun spirit of holidaying in this beautiful city.
We arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm to drop off our luggage before going back out to enjoy the night life. At that moment we realised this hotel really was not for us. i have never known to meet one single person that can destroy a good mood and atmosphere to the point that this guy at reception did. He made it quite clear he didn't like us from the start, he was very creepy, he had no customer service skills and was so rude to us. we went up to our room... i lost count of how many flights of stairs we travelled with our luggage, with no help! we wernt told there was a lift in this hotel.
The room was tiny, no good for 4 people! only 2 bath robes and 2 tiny bags of haribo sweets. As my friends went to discuss this with the man he immediatley knocked on the door with extra robes.. it was almost as if there was a hidden camera in our room. very creepy.
He addressed my friend at reception with the sentence "what have you come to complain about?" she made it clear to him we were not there for trouble and that we were sorry if we got off on the wrong foot, his reply " i do not care if you want to make trouble, then make trouble"
it was obvious he did not want us there.
we were so creeped out we knew we couldn't stay there for the 2 nights we had already booked and payed for... yes it really was that bad! in the end we managed to get a room for 2 nights at the marriot hotel down the road which was worth every penny! we lost our money from the jupiter hotel but we really could not have stayed there.
Rude, creepy, awful man. do not stay here if you are going to Amsterdam for abit of fun!!! we felt like we couldn't even cough without getting into trouble!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    84
    52
    22
    32
See reviews for
27
38
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I love Amsterdam but it's was the worst hotel I ever stayed at, the owner was mad and rude, he have us a room on the top floor, we had 3 heavy suit cases and he didn't even tell us we could use the lift

We only realized there's a lift in the hotel after we carried our bags all the way up there on the very tiny stairs

The room was the smallest double room I ever stayed in

Really I hated this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice cozy hotel. The only thing is that its not really in centrum, its about 30-40 mins walk - nice walk. Guy at the reception bit scary, could smile a little bit more ;-), very nice room. But why you can't smoke on the balcony? There is the reason u choose with balcony, i guess u cant have everything

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent hotel arrived early had a extra person with me asked if i could change room to a triple owner had no problem doing this as there was a triple room left even got a big double bed amazing shower was excellent nice and powerful dressing gowns layed on fresh towel the lot very clean on day of leaving owner let us leave bags until 19:00hrs even helped out door and had even found a item i had left behind quality service and even gave direction spot on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have been in this hotel for a city break in Amsterdam. The room was good, with an incredible bed with an incredible mattress, giving you a really good quality of sleep. The bathroom is not brand new but is modern and clean. The breakfast is included and is quite complete. The hotel is located near the most important places in amsterdam, for example 5 minutes for bulldog coffeeshop, rijksmuseum, Voldenpark...and also you have couple options for lunch and dinner nearby. The only negative point is the service, I think he is the owner, but he is cubbish, rude and most of the time he even try to answer your questions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location is great, the stairs are killers and you will be closely watched.
The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night so the next day when the owner came to my breakfast table I thought it might be an apology but no he wanted the price of our stay up front.
The stairs are more like a circular staircase and don't expect any help getting your luggage down.
Very odd personality on this owner, he really is in the wrong business.
The breakfast worker was always crying but she was very nice.
Hope this was because she has to work here and nothing serious.
I really don't know why he was watching everyone at breakfast but it gave me the creeps.
We didn't steal any eggs!

Room Tip: Only on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Started badly by being told I couldnt pay by credit card! I suspect the person on reception didnt know how to use the machine, as I was later told it should have been fine!
The stairs are terrifying, but not really that unusual in Amsterdam, and there was a lift to the floor we were staying on. There were 4 of us staying in one room, it was perfectly adequate in size, and was always clean and well kept. A usual moan from British people I suppose, but there was no kettle, we'd even brought our own tea bags!
Overall, its a fine place, nothing exciting, but most people dont go to Amsterdam for an exciting hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.