We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice stay in Jupiter Hotel. Not hot central but in walking distance to everything, public transports nearby, and actually really close to Leidsplein Square where you can find all the action you want day and night.
The hotel is small but friendly, well kept and clean. They have steep stairs, but you can use the elevator (the smallest elevator i've ever seen). Jay welcomed us on arrival, and was pretty nice an efficient. The Breakfast is basic, don't expect a 5 star buffet, but it fits the purpose, i thought it was good. The hotel was renovated not long ago and you have wifi all over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    76
    45
    22
    30
See reviews for
25
36
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If by any chance you are handicapped or not in excellent shape...Don't stay here...The stairs are a killer and the owner is not one to help...He (as others have pointed out) is not a personable man and I think he does as little as possible to make sure the guest are pleased with their accommodations.
Breakfast is just o.k too..

Room Tip: Either stay on the first floor...Don't trust that he will have an elevator...Says it's broke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

this was my third time at jupiter.still plenty items to have for breakfast,hotel well situated for all sightseeing and just a short walk from the anne frank museum and the zoo.will use this hotel next time i am in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The room was clean,which is my number one concern when staying in a hotel, and had been updated. I liked the location as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast was included.

Cons: There was a horrible sewage smell in the bathroom the entire time we were there. The restaurant/bar across the street made for some loud, late nights which normally would be fine except we had our two children with us.

Would I stay there again? Yes. Like I said, cleanliness goes a long way with me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very pleased. At check in they were very polite and once in my room found it to be very clean. Breakfast was good and did fill me up. The guy who worked over night was a bit of stiff but he added to the experience.lo

I really enjoyed my stay and found the building very secure. Elevator was in perfect working condition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel is located a few minutes from the centric area on foot. We walked from there to all the interest places of the city. Van Gogh museum is also very close to the hotel. There is a park about 500 meters from the hotel called Vondelpark where you can take your running shoes and exercise, At the hotel you can buy tickets to sail on the canals, you get also city maps, and all kind of tourist information.
The rooms are clean and there are service every day. The breakfast is just fine, not at great deal but good enough with different things to choose from. The only thing I wasn't so happy about is the stairs, the steps were very small and not easy to go up or down, even thou I give it 5 stars for the whole package.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.