We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the Owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not just the Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If by any chance you are handicapped or not in excellent shape...Don't stay here...The stairs are a killer and the owner is not one to help...He (as others have pointed out) is not a personable man and I think he does as little as possible to make sure the guest are pleased with their accommodations.
Breakfast is just o.k too..

Room Tip: Either stay on the first floor...Don't trust that he will have an elevator...Says it's broke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    82
    47
    22
    30
See reviews for
26
37
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

this was my third time at jupiter.still plenty items to have for breakfast,hotel well situated for all sightseeing and just a short walk from the anne frank museum and the zoo.will use this hotel next time i am in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The room was clean,which is my number one concern when staying in a hotel, and had been updated. I liked the location as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast was included.

Cons: There was a horrible sewage smell in the bathroom the entire time we were there. The restaurant/bar across the street made for some loud, late nights which normally would be fine except we had our two children with us.

Would I stay there again? Yes. Like I said, cleanliness goes a long way with me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very pleased. At check in they were very polite and once in my room found it to be very clean. Breakfast was good and did fill me up. The guy who worked over night was a bit of stiff but he added to the experience.lo

I really enjoyed my stay and found the building very secure. Elevator was in perfect working condition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel is located a few minutes from the centric area on foot. We walked from there to all the interest places of the city. Van Gogh museum is also very close to the hotel. There is a park about 500 meters from the hotel called Vondelpark where you can take your running shoes and exercise, At the hotel you can buy tickets to sail on the canals, you get also city maps, and all kind of tourist information.
The rooms are clean and there are service every day. The breakfast is just fine, not at great deal but good enough with different things to choose from. The only thing I wasn't so happy about is the stairs, the steps were very small and not easy to go up or down, even thou I give it 5 stars for the whole package.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent we stayed for two nights all the reviews about the owner being grumpy i found untrue he was helpful to us, direct yes but helpful, the breakfast was lovely location was spot on so all and all a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.