We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a short stay in the Dam.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Save Saved
You added Jupiter Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Canada
1 review
“Perfect place for a short stay in the Dam.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and was very pleased. At check in they were very polite and once in my room found it to be very clean. Breakfast was good and did fill me up. The guy who worked over night was a bit of stiff but he added to the experience.lo

I really enjoyed my stay and found the building very secure. Elevator was in perfect working condition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    50
    23
    30
See reviews for
25
36
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingoer, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel is located a few minutes from the centric area on foot. We walked from there to all the interest places of the city. Van Gogh museum is also very close to the hotel. There is a park about 500 meters from the hotel called Vondelpark where you can take your running shoes and exercise, At the hotel you can buy tickets to sail on the canals, you get also city maps, and all kind of tourist information.
The rooms are clean and there are service every day. The breakfast is just fine, not at great deal but good enough with different things to choose from. The only thing I wasn't so happy about is the stairs, the steps were very small and not easy to go up or down, even thou I give it 5 stars for the whole package.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent we stayed for two nights all the reviews about the owner being grumpy i found untrue he was helpful to us, direct yes but helpful, the breakfast was lovely location was spot on so all and all a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I travelld to Amsterdam with a friend to watch Chelsea verses Benfica and I needed a place that was cheap but in an easy location to get in to centre of Amsterdam. After our flight we got onto the public transport (bus), which took us five minutes away from the Jupiter hotel. We were going to pay 26 Euros each for a return shuttle to our hotel and a taxi was 45 Euros. The public bus was 4 euros each way and it was quick and I would fully recommend this.
I have read other comments about this hotel and everybody seems to say the hotel owner is miserable but we found him to have a dry sense of humour and we felt welcome. The room was ut very clean and tidy just as we expected. We walked back to bus stop where we found plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. We also jumped onto a tram which cost 7.50 Euros for a 24 hour ticket which took us to central station after a 10 minute journey and this put us in the middle of the city. After our match at night we got back into the city centre and then walked back to the hotel which only took 20 minutes.

I feel that this hotel was ideal for a similar short break which allows you to get around the city easily but I would keep away from taxis as public transport is fantastic and cheap.

Room Tip: low floor saves your legs as the stairs are quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Positive: Clean quiet rooms, reasonable breakfast, Good location for Leidesplein
Negative: Not even 2 star! Lift unsafe and broken (although allegedly working); Poor F&F in landings (carpets coming up on steep stairs and bare plaster round door frames); Fire exits non existent; No kettle in room (probably a good thing, given the fire safety issues); Use of CCTV to monitor residents (I dread to think)
The manager of this hotel knows NOTHING about customer service. Arrived (11:30am) we were told by one of the staff that we would be attended to within 5 minutes. 25 minutes later he came to allow us to check in (even though he knew we were there). He then told us he was expecting us to pay by cash. I pointed out out (politely) that the info. supplied by booking.com indicated that the payment method would be card (He went on rudely to explain that should I wish to go and stay somewhere else it will cost much more). I did agree to pay the 4% surcharge and left it at that. We had to wait 20 minutes for a table at breakfast the following morning, with no apology (We were not alone - other residents had the same stand offish approach). My wife and son were trapped in the lift for 2 minutes. My wife parked the bicycle she had hired OUTSIDE the hotel for 2 minutes whilst she picked something up and was asked to move it by him immediately, which she did. I arrived later and, unable to get through the hotel main door with my access card, was forced to take my chances in the lift - It broke without moving. The lights flickered on the panel and I couldn't get out. I forced open the doors and got out of the hotel (it's not possible to gain entry to the stairs without going outside). I found another resident unable to get in. Having tried my card again, we gained entry (to the stairs side of the hotel). I was then confronted by the manager who accused me of "breaking the lift AGAIN". I challenged him as to why he thought I had damaged his lift. It transpired he knows there is a fault and has been sat on the CCTV waiting for people to get stuck so he can manually override the controls. I gently pointed out that he prevent people from using it until it had been professionally fixed at which point he slammed the door behind him in a huff.
If you're after material for a new sitcom, a trainee escapologist or just looking for some kind of masochist thrill I would recommend this hotel very highly indeed.

Room Tip: Marriott just down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hotel PLUSES are its location, its really worth its price and the breakfasts are good ones! It is located on a quiet street, my room overooked the front of the street but I did not suffer from any noise. On a tram 1 one can get to the tram stop and with some 2-3 minutes walk , you are here. We saw at least three grocery shops in the area. My single room was on the 3rd floor neat, clean; I did not expect it to be much more as I read the room description. Breakfast was a very good continental one, good coffee, and pastry! Wifi signal was not stable but it could be due to simult. use by the guests that cuased signal going down.
But be ready to read carefully the payment conditions, as it turned out if you pay by credit card you are charged 4% fee. On our third day of the stay, the manager asked to make the payment in cash. It was ever first time in my travel practice, usually you credit card is scanned by hotel upon check-in, and when checking out you pay the bill. We decided not to argue but settled the bill by credit card. So when making a reservation read carefully what is stated in the payment conditions!
And I would agree to other tripadvisor reviews of the management and receptionist :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor with elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#236 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
#279 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#121 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#167 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
City Center, Bu...
Show More
Red Light District
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#119 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#235 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Address: 2e Helmersstraat 14, 1054 CJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jupiter Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jupiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.