We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at the Belfort.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belfort Hotel to your Saves list
Belfort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    43
    41
    109
See reviews for
21
54
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I found this hotel totally lacking in atmospher. It is tired and grubby. On the first day I asked for the only drawer in the room to be cleaned, I asked again the next day. Never did get done. A two slice toaster was not adequate for the amount of people wanting toast. One guest got the toast stuck and the staff person looked at her with an angry glare, got hold of a knife and stuck it in the toaster to free the bread. No health and safety there.
Boiled eggs saved the day as they still had shells on, the tired looking cold meats and cheese looked like they were past thier sell by date. Pigeons wandered in and out of the place without any fear of being showed out. Stair carpet was thread bare and covered in nasty brown stains.
On a brighter side, the beds were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived, hotel was run down, tatty, smelly, we had a double bed with two single duvets on it, damp patches on wallpaper, bathroom light was hanging off ceiling, shower was dirty, cleaners did a terrible job, lobby smelt of urine, balcony was dirty with fag butts everywhere,

only good things were, location, good tv channels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was the travel agency that booked the hotel, and my trip was not payed by me, so I can't comment on prices or value.
Hotel is old. Rooms are tiny! Bedroom is ok for small people.
Lots of people going on and off and the overall quality is near a 1 or 2 stars hotel.
There are better hostels.

Ok. I stayed just a night and therefore the hotel fulfilled its objective: I slept well and had a nice shower, and breakfast was not that bad. There was a couple, middle age, in a romantic or so trip, the lady was furious because this hotel was not even closer to the worse she had foreseen! And I agree.

On the other side, for a quick stop and visit to the city, it is not that bad. Not far from the centre, with nice parks near, and apparently quite cheap.

Room Tip: I stayed in the ground floor, perhaps a good choice in case of a fire or some problem you are closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

my partner and I arrived at the belfort on 20th June 2013 we were staying 3 nights until 23rd June. initially when we saw the outside of the hotel and the previous reviews read on here we were concerned however we were pleasantly surprised. the girl on reception was bright and pleasant and directed us to our room 223. our room was small compact and basic but very clean and pleasant. bed was comfortable and bathroom clean apart from the crack in the bath. only complaints about the room was that it became very hot at times during the night and that there weren't many electrical sockets. breakfast was nice and fresh croissants, bread, buns and cereal etc. only comment about the breakfast was the member of staff who looked constantly miserable and slightly unapproachable behind the bar. as for location the distance from town didn't bother us. the number 1 and 17 trams run regularly (1 is quickest) also we were given good advice from reception to get a 72 hr pass for €16.50 which was very good. overall this hotel good for the money paid and pleasant even though it could do with updating slightly but I would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The room smelled of a public toilet. It was dirty. The mirror on the wardrobe was broken and stuck together with duck tape. There were holes in the bed linen. Breakfast was poor. Tables were not clean and you had to clear them yourself as in a hostel. Staff not helpful and the hotel was on a very noisy junction. I would rather camp in a tent in the rain than visit this place again. It was awful!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

never, ever! breakfast was poor, coffee was horrible, room smelled.. paperthin walls, you could hear your neighbour fart. dirty and filthy. drafty and cold. nearly spoiled my whole stay in Amsterdam. Tram stop near.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.