We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh my god..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belfort Hotel to your Saves list
Belfort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oh my god..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

never, ever! breakfast was poor, coffee was horrible, room smelled.. paperthin walls, you could hear your neighbour fart. dirty and filthy. drafty and cold. nearly spoiled my whole stay in Amsterdam. Tram stop near.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirkko h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arriving at hotel to check in the reception staff were rude, didnt speak and very vauge with room direction. The room its self was terrible small cramped and damp. The plaster was falling off the walls, ceiling panels covered in mould and damp, windows didnt open and curtains didnt close properly not good especially as our room was on ground floor. The shower room was disgusting looked like it hadnt been cleaned in months and when i complained the girl on reception didnt seem at all surprised or sorry, they did come and make an effort to clean it when we went out but not to a satisfactory level. Right on a main road with paper thin walls left us with a very noisy stay and little sleep. I have no idea when this hotel got its 3 star rating ive stayed in nicer hostels. Speaking to the locals we discovered we could stay in a hotel called Eden right in city centre for the same price, much nicer and clean! AVOID this hotel at all costs i wouldnt send my dog to stay there.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJR77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is not a 3 star hotel it should be listed somewhere between Hostel and Hotel. I stayed here with my wife last weekend, I booked it through easyjet so I will be a lot more careful in future. It is situated a good brisk 30 minute walk from the edge of the town centre. The bedroom walls are so thin you can hear everything said in the next room. The stair carpet is threadbare and most of the floors creak as you walk along. The majority of guests during our stay were men, I only saw two other women there in three days and they didn't look happy. The Chinese reception staff were helpful and polite but the woman in the breakfast room is a piece of work. The outside of the building tells you all you need to know before you walk through the front door. Even the cab driver didn't look happy at leaving us there and although he didn't run it down he couldn't find anything good to say either. It is handy for the airport but I imagine so are all the others. The breakfast is plentiful (for continental) but I couldn't say how fresh it was, it could have been the same stuff coming out each morning. The coffee is stewed in an urn all morning, I say coffee because I can't think it was anything else. we had a double bed with single bed bedding. the traffic noise coming through the window (which was closed) drives you mad after a while and you have to get out. The bar could be 24 hour but I never saw anyone in it, the only reason to drink there would be to forget where you were. I feel I should finish on a positive, Amsterdam was lovely.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hchris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

To start off if u want to go into the city then I would not stay here as it is way to far out to think about walking. You need to rent bikes which I would recommend red light bikes which is just off vondel park. The service in the hotel was rubbish the receptionist was unhelpful and just not a nice person. The pillow was like a slab of concrete with a pillow case and when I asked for another 1 I just got a worse pillow. The shower was do bad it was like getting urinated on and I struggled having a proper wash. I would not recommend this hotel unless you didn't care about your holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

this is a 1 start hotel rather than 3, well you could stay here overnight but do not expect a conformable room or reasonable breakfast. Although park with all the multiple resto's and cafe's is 5 min walk away, would not recommend the place

Room Tip: stay away if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
0.7 mi away
West Side Inn Hotel
West Side Inn Hotel
#271 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#202 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amstel Botel
Amstel Botel
#186 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#197 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#217 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing