We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Belfort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Belfort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belfort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Surinameplein 53, Amsterdam 1058 GN, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Horrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

To start off if u want to go into the city then I would not stay here as it is way to far out to think about walking. You need to rent bikes which I would recommend red light bikes which is just off vondel park. The service in the hotel was rubbish the receptionist was unhelpful and just not a nice person. The pillow was like a slab of concrete with a pillow case and when I asked for another 1 I just got a worse pillow. The shower was do bad it was like getting urinated on and I struggled having a proper wash. I would not recommend this hotel unless you didn't care about your holiday!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    39
    42
    100
See reviews for
18
45
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

this is a 1 start hotel rather than 3, well you could stay here overnight but do not expect a conformable room or reasonable breakfast. Although park with all the multiple resto's and cafe's is 5 min walk away, would not recommend the place

Room Tip: stay away if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

No towels in the bathroom. The telephone didn't work, we couldn't even contact reception. The bathroom glass shelves are all broken up. Cupboard space allows you to hang 2 jackets, and the door has holes punched in it. No safe in the room. The rooms are dirty; plugs are black with gritt and grime. Your breakfast coffee comes from a flask that seems to have been made the night before and is cold, and that is just the start. The staff are oblivious and unhelpfull with a no care attitude. They don't book tours. The hotel should maybe have a 1 star. MAYBE.

Room Tip: Book another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 18th september to 21st september 2012. I had arranged a package tour prior to my arrival from malaysia. The tour company had chosen this hotel and did mention 3*.
This hotel should be classifed under 2*. The room did not have a kettle for making any drinks and there is no shampoo in the bathroom. They dont have a phone extension and their adaptor did not work. When i informed the front desk that i could not charge my phone they replied that probably my charger was faulty. I tried explaining to them that i just came from bradford hilton and i had no problem charging my phone there but they did not assist in anyway. I had to go around amsterdam without a phone line for 2 days and remember they did not have a phone line extension which means that I was not able to receive any calls in my room. I had to wait at the reception to receive a call from my daughter. Their breakfast was ok and their shower is powerful. There is a tram service very near from the hotel. The hotel is quite far from the city and there seems to be nothing much nearby.I would never stay in this hotel again and would not recommend anybody to stay here unless you are looking for a very basic room to sleep at night

Room Tip: Choose this hotel only as a last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Belfort for 3 nights (21/9/12). It's a cheap hotel, definitely not the rating it's given.
We found it to be reasonably clean,had no problems with the staff at all, in fact, found them to be very helpful. I guess it's all down to how you talk to them.
It is a little way from the centre, but, there's a tram stop right outside, with trams running into the city about every 10 mins.
If you're fit and able, take a walk through the Vondel Park to get to town, you won't be disappointed.
In my opinion, this hotel is too pricey for what you get,and it could do with a lot of TLC.
The continental breakfast was passable, just. Coffee's great though.
Would we stay there again? Probably not, there are much better hotels in Amsterdam for the price.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, noise travels easily, both from rooms and the busy crossroads right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Address: Surinameplein 53, Amsterdam 1058 GN, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.