We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Euphemia Hotel to your Saves list
Euphemia Hotel
Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Value for money, location is great but quiet. Not for the party folk. But we had a good time. Staff is friendly and helpful and layed back. Guests were strange but the hostel can not choose guests. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
4
20
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm for 9 nights. It was a good value except for on King's Day weekend, when prices more than doubled. Great location, I could find inexpensive breakfast or hop on the tram right across the street from the hotel. Also within a few blocks of the museum quarter, the Heinekin brewery and a nice canalside park. Great budget option for those traveling to Amsterdam who don't want to stay in the kitschy/more expensive hostels more north. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware, there's no elevator and the stairs are pretty steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a budget hotel, and obviously not too fancy, but great for the money. Just 20 minutes walk into the centre, 5 minutes from the museum district, and close to lots of pretty canals as well. If you don't feel like walking, there is a tram stop right outside which goes into the centre. The location is pretty quiet, which is nice as we weren't looking for a party trip.

The service was very good too, they put us in a ground floor room because my partner is mobility-impaired. The room is nice enough, the bed was a little bit uncomfortable (and I usually don't notice these things), but not too bad.

Overall, for the price I would definitely recommend it if you're looking for private rooms (as opposed to hosteling it) but still on a tight budget!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

this hostel is well located for a decent price, but the guy at the reception was very rude and wanted to charge us 100€ because we smoked one cigaret at the window ( 1 cigaret during all stay, with window open) and he started yelling at us and saying that we burned the balcony when it was obviously there before we arrived and you can see at first look that many people have been smoking in the room.
It's not the worse hotel ever but I didn't like the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed there march 7 - 9th and it was a great place to stay for 50euros each.
Best shower i've ever been in! extremely powerful and doesn't go from hot to cold.
Location wise, really good. lots of links to public transport, coffee shops near by, not far from dam square.

Padlocks cost 10euro
towels cost 1euro
and you also have to put a deposit down for the room key of 10euro

would come back

Room Tip: room 36 if there is 4 of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Good basic hotel. Brilliant, friendly receptionists with excellent knowledge of Amsterdam. Quiet location, close to the museum quarter but also within a lovely 25 minute walk for Anne Frank's House and Amsterdam Central Train Station.

Room Tip: The guys on reception are fantastic and gave me very good suggestions where to go after we had done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here when in town and it was as you would expect from any other hostel you come across. I found the location good, staff helpful and the rooms clean and tidy. I would recommend that you skip the breakfast here though, the portion is not great for the price and there is a small cafe on the corner that serves a great breakfast for a little more money. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euphemia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.