We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the last choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Euphemia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Euphemia Hotel to your Saves list
Euphemia Hotel
Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the last choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location but very basic!Not clean, not quiet.Cold rooms.Lots of stairs.Expensive for a budget hostel.The photos in the website looked nice, but the room was very different!
Absolutely regret staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
4
19
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

go elsewhere. 1 bathroom for 50 people per floor? Dirty, Gross, disgusting. Go ANYWHERE but here. The ONLY thing this place has going for it is it's in a good location. I should have slept on the street corner instead. I have stayed all over Latin America in hostels, for 1/4 of this price, so I expected a semi-nice hostel with a few shared bathrooms, decent rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not a bad little place. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. I stayed about a week in a mixed dorm room. Comfortable. Budget style of travel. Tram stop right outside makes it very easy to get around. A nice walk of about ten or fifteen minutes will get you down into the central part of town. a five minute walk to Heineken Brewery. Wi fi in the reception was good but patchier on upper levels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Im traveller since many years... And I never been in such terrible place!
The people are rude and terrible guests. They should work with another thing, like computers, cause with people they are the worst posible.
I dont advice anyone stay there!
I spent the new years holiday there and they dont clean the room, always complain. They didnt told us that we should pay 10% os some "tax od the city" and told us qhen we arrive. Everything was absurd and terrible!
The only thing good was my friends been together.. But its a very bad place!
DONT GO!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
euphemia2011, Manager at Euphemia Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
City tax is %5 and not %10, we did not charge you or anyone more the that so please check your invoice again, all our terms and conditions are mentioned in our web site and in the confirmation you get when making the reservation, if these terms where not to your satisfaction you could decide not to book with us. not sure what you expected from the hotel, we are here to offer any help you need if you ask,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you're on a budget travel and looking for a place close to central Amsterdam, this is your place!
They have clean and decent rooms. You can also seek for guidance at the reception. Do not expect too much but you will get sufficient answers. Also, typical Amsterdam surprises are all around ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

very nice/helpful guys on the reception desk, they explained and advised where to go, provide all necessary maps,
very good communication with that hotel before arrival,
nice, clean and warm room for the price,
good location: 15-20 mins by walk from city center

Room Tip: we took double room with bathroom inside so we got the room on the top floor which was pretty nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and warm (October). The mattresses were comfortable. Sure it was a bit small but we paid less than any other place I could find. We picked this hotel because they had some rooms on the ground floor. Stairs are a big problem for my wife. This place was perfect for us. Very few small hotels or hostels have elevators or rooms on the ground floor. This hotel is on a quiet side street. Our room was in the back. We heard no noise from outside. The location is near a Hop-on-Hop-off bus stop, a canal cruise dock, a few major tram routes, and, of course, the Heineken Experience. There are many options for food nearby and the free wifi is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor (street level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euphemia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euphemia Hotel

Address: Fokke Simonszstraat 1-9, 1017 TD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Euphemia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euphemia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euphemia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.