We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial
Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price!
Ranked #144 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very poor very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

went for 3 nights to see Fleetwood Mac oct 13. great location but thats about it. staff unhelpful an ignorant,nasty smell as you entered,rooms not to bad but found out other guests had seen mice in their room..very noisy in the mornings. DEFINATELY OVERCHARGED but if your looking for a great location an to be on top of everything in Amsterdam then you may be ok with this one.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 1st floor as stairs tire you so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pro's
Each room is individually decorated. Excellent location as trams, cafes, coffee shops, restaurants, supermarkets, shopping, various fast food outlets and attractions near by. The hotel was very clean. $1.5 euro (tea or coffee, egg sandwich & croissant) is a decent breakfast which you get reimbursed for when checking out. Peter (owner) was helpful and made us feel welcomed, other staff were friendly. The bathroom was compact but modern and very clean.

We stayed in room 22 which was at the back so we did not hear any noise. Room 22 was on the top floor which meant we had to climb three lots of steep stairs. It might be a struggle for older people but we were fine with it.

Cons
The only downside was the wireless internet connection in room 22 was extremely weak and at times very difficult to connect too. This can easily be fixed if the hotel places a wireless repeater somewhere closer to room 22.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Finally and hotel without any surprises, the room has very big bed and confortable, nice fornitures, the bathroom is cleaned and have a nice jacuzzi shower.
I am invalid I wear a leg prothesy so i found confortable the shower with the chair to sit inside.
The management is gently and they refund me the price of the breakfast which i cannot use it
I suggest you to visit it.
The stairs to get in, are a bit steeps.

Un hotel con una stanza decente un vero letto e non come molto spesso ti trovi in quelle microstanze dove non riesci a muoverti. Per il prezzo e' il migliore che ho trovato per la posizione centrale e con colazione inclusa.
Il bagno ha una doccia Jacuzzi con molte funzioni per l'eta' che ha,
Le scale sono un po ripide e non vi e' ascensore.
Consiglio

Room Tip: they have a nice website to choose the rooms. Hanno un sito che rispecchia le foto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good hotel, good location next to Rembrandt Platz where you can take the tram to visit the city or to go to the Centraal Station. Next to the hotel you can find some restaurants and bars. The hotel doenst have an elevator, so the luggage is problem if it is heavy. You can have a breakfast at HEMA not far from the hotel. The room is clean, good beds and the decoration is perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Three of us (grandma's!) stayed in one room for 4 days and enjoyed every moment. The room was large enough for 3 beds, enough space for our luggage and the bathroom was fine. We did not mind the breakfast arrangement. The hotel is as central as can be. The noise at night was not a problem as we closed the windows. This is after all Amsterdam!!! Not a retirement village. Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best location you can think of! There are absolutely quiet rooms (not all of them). Very - very positive staff. 2 * - the best decor what I saw. Even breakfast is available for free. (not in the hotel, but very close)

Room Tip: Room 12 was perfect! Quiet, despite the proximity of the crowd. Large, spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its location (noisy but only 20 minutes walk to the city centre). It´s the worst customer service I´ve ever experienced, I felt like they´re making us a favour for letting us stay there. At 9 am the cleaner started with the hover, and when I asked her if it would be possible to do it a bit later because we got there quite late due to a delayed flight she said if I didn´t want to hear the noise I could use ear plugs. I told this to the owner and he showed a very offensive and impolite attitude. It was more the manners than the content. Not the kind of place I´d ever recommend to anyone. Not good value for money either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.