We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Imperial
Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms and location is good but instead of breakfast you will get an advice to get a few corners away for a 1,50EUR special offer breakfast. If you bring back the bill they will refund you the 1,50EUR. I think most of the guests will skip the 1,50EUR refund, so the hotel is so 'smart' that offers officially breakfast does not really pay for that...
If you have other similar accomodation nearby, do not choose them!
Despite its description, the hotel rooms are noisy.

Room Tip: Be prepared that double room will mean a nice big bed and a mobile bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Not bad by Amsterdam standards- decent sized room with a comfy bed, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space Location is fantastic if you want to be in the centre of things- Rembrandtsplein is lively and full of great bars and restaurants, and is close to all the other main attractions. We had a room on the front which was a little noisy until about 2 am but it didn't keep us awake. The inclusive breakfast at Hema around the corner is very basic but enough to keep us going. All in all a good place to stay, we had some good exercise climbing the stairs and slept well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter, second floor involves a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The great thing about thiw hotel is it's location. Hotel Imperial is next the REMBRANDT place and pretty much near to everything in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean and comfortable without fancy furniture but really good enough to make your stay there pleasant. Also the hotel offers free internet. The negative points are : 1. expensive for what it offers 2. you can have breakfast in a building near the hotel 3. no elevator and the stairs difficult to climb 4. no good soundproof

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. We had rooms 15 & 16. Got to say room 16 was lovely!! Very comfy bed with great pillows and the jacuzzi shower was fab!
There are pubs and nightclubs outside but honestly couldn't hear alot at night.
Friendly staff, good location, worth the money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

As a place to put your head down in between a rock and roll stay in The Dam it's fine. Good location & very basic but you haven't exactly paid a fortune have you? Don't pay for the hotel breakfast but breakfast outside in one of the many local cafes.

Oh. And book a room at the back if you want any kip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam a handful of times and I loved the location of this hotel. My husband and I (27 & 28 yrs old) stayed here for 3 nights. With Rembrandt square right outside there were many options for grabbing lunch/dinner or just a coffee. We loved the location because if you walk out the door to the right there was busy cafe's, grocery stores and bars. If you walked out to the left there were quiet side streets which is why we fell in love with Amsterdam in the first place.

The hotel does not offer breakfast, but what they do is if you go to HEMA (walk out the door to the right and take the 2nd street on the left it's along the left..3min walk) and get the 1.50 EUR breakfast and give the hotel the receipt they will reimburse you. It was a very good deal. For 1.50 EUR you got tea/coffee, a croissant and a baguette with egg in it. Plenty of food for breakfast. Also, I drink lots of water during a typical day so we started out buying 2 EUR waters at DH, but then one night I tried the tap water from our bathroom and it was just fine. I always get nervous drinking water from the tap in other countries, but the tap water is just fine to drink so save your money. Buy a bottle or two and just refill it in the room!

We had a room facing the back of the hotel on the top floor. We didn't mind walk up the stairs and it was pretty quiet facing the back. We could hear the thump of music from the front so I can't imagine how noisy the front is. All of the staff was very nice and on check in I asked if we faced the back and they said yes. So I joked that was good, I was hoping we would get a room facing the back and the man said we should have requested it. So by the sounds just email them and request the direction you want to have your room face.

One funny thing we did notice was the room was slanted. My husband pointed it out once we had been in the room for about 30mins, then that was all I could notice. It wasn't too bad, but we joked about it since we are big How I Met Your Mother fans and that is in the show.

Overall we loved the location, the hotel could do with a few upgrades, but it is nothing serious. the shower was a big small. I'd rather have a shower a few inches bigger than a jet shower that we didn't even use. We will stay here again for the location alone.

Room Tip: Room 21 faced the back. It was on the top floor so if stairs are an issue ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Budget Places and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.