We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Imperial
Thorbeckeplein 9, Amsterdam 1017 CS, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. We had rooms 15 & 16. Got to say room 16 was lovely!! Very comfy bed with great pillows and the jacuzzi shower was fab!
There are pubs and nightclubs outside but honestly couldn't hear alot at night.
Friendly staff, good location, worth the money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

As a place to put your head down in between a rock and roll stay in The Dam it's fine. Good location & very basic but you haven't exactly paid a fortune have you? Don't pay for the hotel breakfast but breakfast outside in one of the many local cafes.

Oh. And book a room at the back if you want any kip!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam a handful of times and I loved the location of this hotel. My husband and I (27 & 28 yrs old) stayed here for 3 nights. With Rembrandt square right outside there were many options for grabbing lunch/dinner or just a coffee. We loved the location because if you walk out the door to the right there was busy cafe's, grocery stores and bars. If you walked out to the left there were quiet side streets which is why we fell in love with Amsterdam in the first place.

The hotel does not offer breakfast, but what they do is if you go to HEMA (walk out the door to the right and take the 2nd street on the left it's along the left..3min walk) and get the 1.50 EUR breakfast and give the hotel the receipt they will reimburse you. It was a very good deal. For 1.50 EUR you got tea/coffee, a croissant and a baguette with egg in it. Plenty of food for breakfast. Also, I drink lots of water during a typical day so we started out buying 2 EUR waters at DH, but then one night I tried the tap water from our bathroom and it was just fine. I always get nervous drinking water from the tap in other countries, but the tap water is just fine to drink so save your money. Buy a bottle or two and just refill it in the room!

We had a room facing the back of the hotel on the top floor. We didn't mind walk up the stairs and it was pretty quiet facing the back. We could hear the thump of music from the front so I can't imagine how noisy the front is. All of the staff was very nice and on check in I asked if we faced the back and they said yes. So I joked that was good, I was hoping we would get a room facing the back and the man said we should have requested it. So by the sounds just email them and request the direction you want to have your room face.

One funny thing we did notice was the room was slanted. My husband pointed it out once we had been in the room for about 30mins, then that was all I could notice. It wasn't too bad, but we joked about it since we are big How I Met Your Mother fans and that is in the show.

Overall we loved the location, the hotel could do with a few upgrades, but it is nothing serious. the shower was a big small. I'd rather have a shower a few inches bigger than a jet shower that we didn't even use. We will stay here again for the location alone.

Room Tip: Room 21 faced the back. It was on the top floor so if stairs are an issue ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As a young couple (24-25) we looked for a good, clean hotel that was close to Amsterdam's nightlife and main attractions. This hotel fit that description perfectly.

The room was very clean and surprisingly spacious, and the staff was very friendly. Location is perfect, with the best clubs, bars, restaurants and city attractions within walking distance, or a small tram ride away (Tram stop very close to the hotel). Free wifi with a good connection is also available in the rooms.

Staying on the top floor did mean there were quite a few steps to climb, but we got used to them after a couple of days.

We had a very pleasant one week stay at this hotel, and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you can't stand noise...don't book this hotel.
If you are expecting decent breakfast...don't book this hotel.
On top of that there are some strange rules in this hotel.

When you book Imperial, you pay for location, nice room, good bed and WIFI.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

just ok, It´s a house maked hotel, they say they include breakfast but it´s only a small one, if you want a real breakfast you have to pay extra 12€

but its a good option for the price

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, Amsterdam 1017 CS, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.