We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in the best section of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial
Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price!
Ranked #144 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Oakland, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true gem in the best section of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

I have been staying at the Imperial for over 10 years. What a true gem and value in the best part of Amsterdam. The rooms are immaculate. You can eat off the floors. Beddings, linens and towels are all top rate. Bathrooms are modern and there is great shower pressure and jacuzzi shower cabinets with water falls and multi-head action. There is no elevator. You do need to walk 1 flight to the lobby, and an additional 1-2 more flights to get to your room. So if you are not able to climb, you do not need to stay here. Peter the owner is great. He can be quirky, and does expect guests to treat the hotel as the home that he lives in rather than a nameless faceless place. Once you get to know him, he is wonderful, and a wealth of knowledge with dining and daytime activitiy recommendations. I can not say enought good about this hotel. It is my home in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

Room large and comfortable. Breakfast room cramped, food adequate. Ambience deplorable because of manager's aggressive and unhelpful attitude. Mercurial mood changes and completely inappropriate displays of anger do not normally lead to good customer satisfaction. A previous review did mention Basil Fawlty, and I cannot think of a more apt description than this.
I had moved to this hotel from a tiny, cramped room in a different hotel with dozens of steep stairs to negotiate, but the manager and staff there were so warm and helpful that one could have forgiven any shortcomings in the accommodation. Anyone tempted to book the Imperial please take note - and beware of Basil.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed in the Imperial Hotel in July. We have been to Amsterdam many times before and stayed in various hotels, this one comes out on top!!

The staff were very nice and our check in was very swift. The hotel is very clean and airy and we were allocated a room on top floor which was not too much of a hike. The room was very impressive, large, tastfully decorated with private facilities. The bathroom was quite small and we did find it extremely amusing trying to get in and out the shower! If your waste is wide you may have to wash at the sink.

The hotel in situated on the busy Rembrantplein but as soon as the windows are shut in room you struggle to hear outside noise.

Overall, very impressive hotel for Amsterdam.

  • Liked — High standard of hotel
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

We recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and were pleasantly surprised not only by the size of the room but also the cleanliness and helpfulness of the hotel owner and staff working there. We read some of the previous reviews and found that this hotel was among the best hotels we have stayed in during our numerous European trips. A huge plus for us also was the fact that the Imperial is a non-smoking hotel. We would recommend this hotel to others but Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy because of the clubs in the area.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

Well this hotel has a great location, right in the middle of things.
Rooms
very clean, very comfortable bed, small bathroom but very adequate and clean
Breakfast
Dont bother
it was extremly limited and only ran from 9am to 10am

complaints
walls are very thin, you can hear everything going on around you

we had the unfortunate event of being 'told off' for saying good night to friends in the hall way this was classed as causing a distubance by the owner

no food or drink allowed in the rooms at all
no smoking of any kind allowed in the hotel at all
no lift

  • Liked — very comfortable bed and good location
  • Disliked — breakfast and thin walls
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

This little hotel is by far the best in Amsterdam but it definately isn't the worst. Some of the other reviews of this hotel are unneccisarily harsh. Complaints about the owner Peter and his family are understandable as he isnt the most accomodating but make an effort to talk to him and his family and they suddenly turn into the most helpful and understanding people who know a great deal about Amsterdam and its history despite being American. He is also more than happy to discuss the drugs and red light laws and explain the countrys relaxed approach to these. The hotel itself is so clean that any complaints about this are ludicrous as the staff work extremely hard. The rooms are exactly as shown on the pictures and the beds are very very comfortable. The breakfast isnt gourmet but its simple and pleasant enough. The hotel may be a little expensive for two star but the hotel should be at least 3 star as the rooms are exceptional so you get what you pay for. The hotel is situated in a lively part of town but I think it must be difficult to find a part of Amsterdam that isnt lively at night. The location is superb. Just a short walk to anywhere but to be honest you can easily walk anywhere in Amsterdam with a good map. Pick this hotel, I strongly reccomend it for and easy and stress free trip. Ignore the bad reviews written by stuck up, pompous travellers.

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Steep stairs but common in Amsterdam hotels.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be nice to owners and you'll be all the better for it
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Some of the reviewers here seem to expect 5 star facilities from a 2 star hotel. The hotel is conveniently situated for central Amsterdam in a fairly bustling area close to Rembrantplein but also the quiet Herengrach canal. I imagine that during peak season it can be noisy if you have a room at the front but my room, at the back, was extremely quiet - albeit with no view - and the street area in front of the hotel was fairly quiet when I was out and about at night - but this was in October.

The room was small but very clean, the ensuite bathroom was more than adequate with a large shower area. The TV was excellent with a choice of English language programmes (BBC1, BBC2, News24, CNN). There was also a small safe in the room which was a nice touch - although to be honest anyone breaking into the room could easily have walked away with the whole safe.

Some reviewers have commented on the steep stairs. Just remember this is Amsterdam where steep stairs are the norm.

Breakfast, I was told, was not served until 8.00 which can be a bit late for anyone working but I guess most guests are tourists so it proabably doesn't matter that much. The owner/manager offered to make me a "sandwich or something" instead or alternatively let me have coffee making facilities in the room. They normally charge an extra 3 euros for that which, for British guests who expect such facilities in the lowliest B&B, might seem a bit of a cheek.

The price was reasonable at 110 euros per night which appeared to include the normal 5% city tax which I've been charged in other Amsterdam hotels, but not the additional 3 or 4 per cent charge for using credit cards.

Overall this is not the Ritz but it's a good 2 star hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Convenient location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast served too late for me
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room at back if you want a quiet room but don't expect a view.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Thorbeckeplein 9, 1017 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, intimate hotel, located in the centre of Amsterdam on a picturesque traffic-free square, surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a short walk to museums and shopping. The hotel is cosy, comfortable and clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.