We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leidseplein Hostel

Save Saved
You added Leidseplein Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leidseplein Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 PW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is simply terrible. Although I paid only 6 euros for a weekday, the Friday was over 45 euros and it certainly was not worth it. The bathroom was inside the room and the neatness was just non-existent. The included breakfast was almost non-existent as well.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    28
    21
    82
See reviews for
2
20
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place was a complete dump. As a college student low on cash, this normally doesn't bother me and i would expect nothing less, but the staff was incredibly unhelpful and unprofessional. the managers were even worse. I could not get a hold of anyone in charge and the entire thing felt like a scam. avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

For some reason, this remains a relatively unknown hostel. But for anyone that knows or has heard of Amsterdam, they know that the most exclusive (and famous) area of town is Leidsepleine.

The rents here are through the moon for hotels or living, making it a mission for almost all travelers to get down to Leidse for some Big Fun.

Yet here is a place that for some loose change will give you Bed and Breakfast right smack in the middle of the Leidsepleine square, the center of the Amsterdam universe--the home of Melkweig, the Bulldog, Paradiso, Chicago Social, Be-at Club etc etc.

You can be right where everyone, travellers and locals alike, is trying to get to, and all you have to do is show up. No worries about getting around, because you are right in the middle of the action, especially party tourists. Coffee and all you can eat PB and J included in the price every morning also ensures you won't go hungry lol!

For being in the middle of the action, this is a pretty chilled out interior. All the rooms are spacious. One side of the building is right above the street, so even if you are too tired to party you can lie down and listen to the festivities, from the comfort of your own bed lol! The rooms on the other side of the building are remarkably quieter, and the staff will set you up wherever you like.

Don't worry about the hostel, the staff and management is totally cool and knowledgeable. Let them take care of your basics while you tear up Leidse!

PS Vondel Park / Rijks Museum / Heineken Experience / Medieval Torture Museum are all within minutes on foot as well!

Room Tip: Decide if you want the quiet side or the noisy side before you arrive, and inform the staff upon che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

When i was in amsterdam i looking a backpacker hostel. So i toke a leidseplein. But at the night i came back to sleep after going arround the city, on the street a full with young people and in my room is so messy.. Terrible. I cant sleep well..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Last september, I went by train to Amsterdam with my friends for a couple of days.
We just wanted to enjoy the city for the smallest amount of money possible so we took this place. First, we lost ourself on our way to the youth hotel, after a 30-minutes long and boring research, we finally found it : a tiny place next to a coffee shop and a coktail bar, and in front of a nightclub si it was extremely noisy during the whole night ( but sleep isn't a problem if you re a bit drunk).
Besides, the bedrooms and the sanitaries were the basiest possible, at the begining, barely clean, but after midnight, it wasn't a good idea to even DARE to take a shower because of all the dirt. But we had prepared ourself for that : we had paid 15 €/ the night so it wasn't our goal to sleep in a palace. We had planned this trip to visit and go out in the city so, all this bad service's quality wasn't a problem because the only thing we needed was a bed.
If I had to say one good thing about our stay, it would certainly be the vibes : actually we stayed in a 12-persons dormitory and it was really fun ! Everyone talked to everyone and the other customers were polite and self conscious about the other's stuffes.
In conclusion, we can say that your satisfaction depends of your expectations. I recommand this hotel for short travels with friends and for people who won't care a lot about the cleanliness and just wanna have fun !

Room Tip: Don't be scared to took a 12-persons room, even if you don't like to sleep in the same place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscania, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hostel was really expensive (I paid less for a really nice hostel in London for 5 days versus 3 days there) and filthy! I took a shower and felt dirtier after the shower rather than before. It is super difficult to find the place, and there were no ladders for the bunk beds. Worst of all, I left a bag there by accident, and they lost it! It took them a week to email me back after I emailed them twice. I would definitely NOT recommend this place. The only good thing about is was that it was near the center of Amsterdam (it was within walking distance) and there were a lot of places to go in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

They totally ripped me off. We we 5 people in a 4-bedroom and everybody paid different prices. I paid more than 74 Euros per night!
What I got for my money:
- simple bread for breakfast without a toaster
- a stinky, hot room (and it was already October) where you couldn´t open the windows
- no ladder for the bunkbeds
- no wardrobe or locker
-dirty bathroom
When my flatemates left, 5 minutes later new people come in- the staff never changed the covers or sheets.. I don´t wanna know how many people use the same dirty covers night by night...
I really recommend the hostel for people who just wanna get stoned and wasted, who don´t care about noise coming from the outside all nigth long and don´t care about dirt and smell. But then maybe you could spend your money for sth cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leidseplein Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leidseplein Hostel

Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 79, 1017 PW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leidseplein Hostel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Leidseplein Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leidseplein Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.