We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prins Hendrik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prins Hendrik to your Saves list
Hotel Prins Hendrik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed one night in june with my partner. This was one of the more spacious places we stayed in while traveling around eruope. We had the chet baker room which had an awesome view of central station and the canals. Walking distance to the red light district which was an interesting experience. The staff were friendly. Free breakfast included was nothing spectacular but did the job. Once we checked out we were allowed to leave our bags in the hotel while we did some more exploring before our train arrived.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    152
    83
    33
    26
See reviews for
38
70
45
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel is centrally located near the train station and is within easy reach of all the main attractions either on foot or via tram. Great little bar next door which is part of the hotel, excellent pea soup. Rooms are varied, we had a two floor apartment at the top of the hotel which was clean, comfortable and spacious. There is a lift but some rooms can only be reached by stairs.

Room Tip: Apartments 1 and 2 at the top of the hotel are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Good location. A good five minutes walk from central station.
Helpful in reception on arrival.
Very suprised with size of room. As you enteted thete were a few steps down to the bathroom which was spacious , leading to large doublebed which they brought in as had been two singles. Huge window looking onto busy street below.
Breakfast had a good choice and also a good atmosphere in the breakfast room.
I could not fault the position of the hotel and will use again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just come home from a 3 nights stay at Prins Hendrik.
The hotel is in an excellent location with Amsterdam Centraal opposite. Canal tours, train and trams all go from here.
2 minute walk from the bottom of Damrak.
We stayed in a quintuple room and there was not enough sockets to satisfy 5 girls with phones, straighteners and hair dryers and due to the good location comes the noise from the streets. Hotel could do with a freshen up as it looks very tired but overall it was a good stay, comfortable and clean rooms which is all you need in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights - two families with 3 kids in total. Brilliant location bang opposite Centraal station, so a two minute walk from the train. Rooms large, airy and clean with a great view over to the station (a magnificent building). Usual noise from a city centre but no problem when the window was closed. All slept very well. Beds comfy, bathroom large. Good self-service breakfast with hot and cold options. Hotel has its own restaurant and a cosy pub/brown cafe with a good selection of beers. Reception open 24 hours and staff are very friendly and helpful. Can arrange all visits from the hotel. Everything in the city is within walking distance but buses and trams stop right outside if you don't like walking. Great base for a city break and the larger family rooms represent great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 215 overlooking the station - large and airy with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is well placed across the street from the central train station of Amsterdam. I was not able to check-in when I arrived, so stored my luggage and hung out in the Amsterdam public library which is within walking distance. The room I was given had a firm bed and an unusual layout. You had to stand in the shower area to use the sink in the bathroom. There were windows, but no view except the airway. Staff were very helpful with information, but the included breakfast buffet was not very good. Coffee and juices from machines had an odd taste as if the proportions of ingredients were wrong. The buffet was all you can eat, but I did not want to eat much of what was provided. Hotel is still a good value if you find an alternative breakfast location due to the high cost of alternatives. Furniture in the room was dated as noted in other reviews. A metal handle to the wardrobe was broken and lots of dents and bruises noted on other furnishings.

Room Tip: I did not stay long enough to home in on a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prins Hendrik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.