We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all good!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prins Hendrik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Prins Hendrik to your Saves list
Hotel Prins Hendrik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“all good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here twice once in hotel and once in apartment both times were really good right in the heart of dam gd size rooms without to much noise by time u want your bed!! Both times no complaints about smoking( the gd stuff ) has to b one of the easyest hotels to find in dam wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!! Slightly more expensive than a few nearby but with breakfast and less travelling works out ok :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    138
    79
    32
    24
See reviews for
36
64
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Agreed, central Amsterdam accommodation is overpriced and often cramped and one knows that beforehand. If you are considering staying at this hotel, chances are that you would choose it for its location right across the central station and not for its comforts or room quality. In spite of knowing all of the above, this hotel cannot get a good recommendation from me. The room on the first floor, station side, was very noisy, dusty and the interior was dull and outdated. In addition, the hotel facilities, lift and stairs are uncomfortably cramped. Service was decent but the value overall was below par.

Room Tip: Try a room higher up and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon, we where just looking for somewhere central to stay central to the station and what a gem the hotel is ! We got a warm welcome and congratulations from the guy on reception which was nice, the room was cozy but a bit warm and noisy from outside but we where not fussed :) the breakfast was fine but the coffee was a bit on the nasty side. We enjoyed our stay and you get what you pay for !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more clean and tidy staff were very helpful food in the restaurant is amazing and location is perfect for seeing Amsterdam. Reception was 24 hrs and always helpful with directions etc we will definitely be staying at the prins hendrik again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a family for a few days in August, before kids went back to school. Hotel was very close to train station which was good and made a good base for our first visit to city.
Room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed except a kettle! Huge windows overlooking Centraal Station. Noise from street outside just added to city life and wasn't too bad.
Breakfast was OK, just what you would expect when in Europe. Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked hotel last minute so it was a little bit on the pricey side. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place and Location.
The only letdown for me, was the lack of free Wifi, yes you could buy 5 Euro's worth of internet time.

Take note!
Wifi is free in most public places in the United Kingdom, eg Bars, hotels, trains stations even banks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are four women traveling to UK, FR, NL for 12 days. We booked this location (close to the train, 4 single beds, close to action). Room was large, clean, dated. Breakfast included. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you Matt for your guidance. Our room faced the train station, 2nd floor. It was loud. Again, we picked based on location, beds,etc. we knew this before, so be advised. Beds are soft. There is an elevator, but there may be stairs to the room or a small step to the bathroom.

Room Tip: If possible higher floor may drown out some noise and smoke smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prins Hendrik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.