We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prins Hendrik

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prins Hendrik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Prins Hendrik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Couldn't have asked for more clean and tidy staff were very helpful food in the restaurant is amazing and location is perfect for seeing Amsterdam. Reception was 24 hrs and always helpful with directions etc we will definitely be staying at the prins hendrik again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    128
    76
    32
    23
See reviews for
34
63
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a family for a few days in August, before kids went back to school. Hotel was very close to train station which was good and made a good base for our first visit to city.
Room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed except a kettle! Huge windows overlooking Centraal Station. Noise from street outside just added to city life and wasn't too bad.
Breakfast was OK, just what you would expect when in Europe. Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked hotel last minute so it was a little bit on the pricey side. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place and Location.
The only letdown for me, was the lack of free Wifi, yes you could buy 5 Euro's worth of internet time.

Take note!
Wifi is free in most public places in the United Kingdom, eg Bars, hotels, trains stations even banks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are four women traveling to UK, FR, NL for 12 days. We booked this location (close to the train, 4 single beds, close to action). Room was large, clean, dated. Breakfast included. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you Matt for your guidance. Our room faced the train station, 2nd floor. It was loud. Again, we picked based on location, beds,etc. we knew this before, so be advised. Beds are soft. There is an elevator, but there may be stairs to the room or a small step to the bathroom.

Room Tip: If possible higher floor may drown out some noise and smoke smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Hotel is a pleasant Home away from home. Staff very helpful, answered all my questions. And then there is the very excellent coffee, that too is a reason to come back. I arrived by train and sure enough, the Hotel is a short walk away from Amsterdam Central. Travelling by myself, I need a place where I feel safe. Hotel Prins Hendrik is the place I will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I chose to spend a couple of days in Amsterdam to break up a long trip from the middle of Canada to Rwanda. This hotel offers an excellent location, central to the train station, Red Light District, exhibitions, etc. - a great base from which to tour the city. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good with a wide array of tasty selections.
The staff were amazingly helpful - I had to finalize my visa for Rwanda while in Amsterdam and they were 100% helpful. Hotel Prins Hendrick is great value for the money and the staff extremely helpful for the traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The service was very good. All the staff were friendly and polite. The fact that breakfast was included was a bonus, it was plentiful and a good selection.
The room was pretty basic but decent. We had a double room and the bed was a really good size and comfortable. The location was great, absolutely excellent. Close to Amsterdam's Centraal Station. Also shops, bars, all amenities, including popular tourist attractions.

The only slightly negative was the fact that our room overlooked the street, therefore very noisy in the nightime. However, this would not prevent us from using this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prins Hendrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prins Hendrik

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 52 - 57, 1012 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prins Hendrik 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Prins Hendrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prins Hendrik Hotel
Prins Hendrik Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prins Hendrik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.