We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Centrally situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014. Think slightly overpriced for facilities. Room rather small but spotlessly clean. Lovely cotton bedding. Lighting rather dull in our room. Staff very friendly.would have like tea or coffee making facilities in room, however there were vending machines in foyer. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    833
    296
    72
    49
See reviews for
209
660
96
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel, at 8.00 am in the morning after a 23 hour flight from Australia. Even at this early hour we were able to book in and go to our room. We were also able to have breakfast, which is a good buffet breakfast. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. We were also given an airconditioned room. We had stayed at the Rho, twelve months earlier, and my husband was remembered as the man with the Dutch face,dutch name, with an Australian accent. The Rho is within walking distance to Dam Square, a great place to stay. Highly recommend and great attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel used to be a theatre. It is located right off Dam Square, close to the Red Light District. The hotel is fair - no air conditioning in the rooms but there is air conditioning in the hallway!? We opened the windows (which didn't have screens) onto an open-air atrium which was nice for a breeze. The bed could have been better - it was old. Overall, it was OK.

Room Tip: Not a great choice but close to Dam Square where there is a lot of transportation choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Within walking distance of everything in Amsterdam. Good value, excellent breakfast buffet. No air conditioning, but fans and open windows made it comfortable. Very attentive staff. We slept well with comfortable beds and very little noise.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good. We did not hear any complaints. No a/c, but it had a fan and with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was our second stay here - some 10 years after the first. The corridors, rooms & overall decor have been very tastefully refurbished: bathroom re-tiled, new fixtures & fittings,new beds, new double glazing, carpets, etc. Altogether an improvement on what was a pretty good hotel before. The location is wonderful, only a couple of hundred yards from the Dam Square, the effective centre of town, & on a fairly quiet street with its share of bars, cafes & restaurants.
However, for a large, busy hotel the one small, slow lift is abysmally inadequate: long waits for it to arrive, only to find two young back-packers taking up all the space. A distinct minus, if you can't man-handle your luggage up or down 3 floors of stairs!
But, the big "no-no" in August, is the lack of air-conditioning! The corridors to our room from the lift were more cooled than you would want but the room was stifling with the afternoon sun pouring in. We promptly shut the heavy curtains & propped the door open to the corridor, to "steal" some of the chilled air there, which we tried to waft around the room with the small fan provided.
The window gave onto an interior courtyard, so it was very quiet &, once the sun was below the roof-line, the opened window gave some relief from the heat.
The very large building immediately opposite the Rho is undergoing a long & noisy major refit, so a room in the front of the hotel will be very noisy indeed, for some time to come.
The breakfast buffet was very busy, but good: all the usual items in good supply. Full marks.
Our room (338) had no Wi-Fi. TV had adequate English channels (BBC World Service, CNN, etc.)
Information provided by the Reception staff on both days, concerning location & type of certain restaurants was erroneous & thoroughly misleading!! On neither evening were we able to find the selected restaurant at the place marked by them on their own hotel-issue Map. Extremely disappointing & a major let-down for an expensive, centrally located hotel - they should do better.

Room Tip: Opt for an interior room, facing the courtyard, for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Rho Hotel. Room was clean and comfortable, staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. The hotel is very centrally located, handy for bars and restaurants, and just a ten minute walk from the Central Station. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I booked five nights here prior to taking a river cruise, never having visited Amsterdam before. I chose the Rho mainly due to the reasonable price. I didn't realize that it is perfectly located right in the middle of Amsterdam's historic center, and literally just steps away from Dam Square.

There's nothing fancy about this place, but it's a great location to base your exploration of Amsterdam. It's right on the cusp between the "historic" district and the Red Light District. Although there's always a lot of action going on, most rooms are far enough from the street to be comfortably quiet.

The rooms are small but comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very good and restocked regularly. The front desk staff is multilingual (most speak better English than a lot of Americans I know) and without exception went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

The public areas are air-conditioned, but the rooms are not. We typically just left our door open for a few minutes when we returned to our room then left the window open, and we were plenty comfortable. No restaurant onsite other than the breakfast room, but there are dozens of restaurants within a three minute walk.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Rho to anyone looking for a friendly, reasonably priced place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms open onto a central (large) air shaft / courtyard. No need to request anything spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#194 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#133 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#199 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#153 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#178 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.