We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice hotel
Good breakfast
hotel needs updating as a little old and dated.
Staff was very friendly.
Perfect location as it's right on Dam square.
I recommend hotel
However a little pricey for a dated hotel.
All the decor within hotel was very old fashioned.

No complaints apart from decor

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    796
    283
    65
    46
See reviews for
190
631
94
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is in a great location close to Dam square.
It is not cheap but it is good value for Amsterdam.
We had a bright large room for our 3 nights and were very comfortable. The lift was slow and the floors involved stairs to reach our room. The breakfast which is included in the room rate is good offering a reasonable selection.
This is a very historic hotel and it needs some renovation in places but it all adds to the atmosphere. Friendly staff .
The hotel is very easy to find which can be a plus when pushing bags!

Room Tip: Some double rooms are small. Arrive early and ask for a spacioius room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Hotel was greatly located in dam square....easily within walking distance to pubs coffee shope etc and red light district. Also near tram stops...wud highly recommend gettin the number 9 tram to rembrandt square which is a 10 minute ride away but really nice....will most definately stay again here....breakfast was nice also.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm,B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were part of a group of 3 couples and booked our rooms through Booking.com. We were greeted warmly and check-in was fast and easy. They were able to accommodate my request for a room with a bath tub. The desk staff was very informative as to directions and things to see and do. The manager even brought us ice for our little "Happy Hour" in the small room adjoining the lobby - we were drinking our own liquor and enjoying some appies purchased at a nearby grocery store. The rooms were very clean but decorated sparely and quite a while ago! The linens were good but the bed very soft - uncomfortably so. We had a central room so noise wasn't an issue but the other two couples faced on the streets and were bothered by nighttime noise of revellers. The rooms were very warm, a fan was provided but it was hard to move the fan because of lack of plugs. Reading lights could be improved. The hotel is somewhat like a maze - halls leading up a few stairs, around corners, down a few stairs etc. and signage could be improved.The best part was the location. Being so close to Dam Square, the train station, the canal boats, the flower market, Anne Franke House, the art galleries, pleasant restaurants,shopping, all within walking distance was a bonus.Breakfast was very well done and we all left the breakfast room full and satisfied. The price was very reasonable especially considering the quality of the breakfast - not just pastries or bread but almost anything you can think of - even smoked salmon! Breakfasts were well above our expectations. We would be happy to stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a centrally located room - less noise from the street as you must have your window open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed here before. This time I was with my wife for two nights. It is close to the Central station just by the Royal palace so very central. Amsterdam is not a large city and easy to get around on foot. We walked everywhere visiting the Rijks Museum, the West church tower and the Portugese synagogue as well as the CC music Cafe during our short visit. The price is not expensive compared with other hotels. The reception staff were friendly and helpful giving us a tourist map together with other useful information as we checked in. The room was clean and equipped with a good shower and good bed. We asked for a twin which is larger than the usual double. The room was very quiet at night even though we had the window slightly open due to it begin very hot during our visit. There was only a fan which we did not use but even so the heat was not a problem for us. The breakfast is very good with a wide choice - fruit, cheese, bread, salad or hot bacon scrambled egg, etc. Something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Close to train, easy walk to many major sites. The staff were all very nice and helpful but the room was small and hot. Hotel provided a table fan. Guests hung out of windows to smoke, which drifted into room. Reasonable for the price as the city us very expensive.

Room Tip: Apparently there is a newer part of the hotel which is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I cannot recommend this property.
Pros- Right off Dam Square. But in a quiet spot off Dam Square.
Breakfast was more than adequate. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, salmon, tomatoes, lots of cheese and breads etc.
Spacious room with proper lighting.
Staff was mostly nice.
We stayed for 3 days and it was very quiet to sleep even with the windows open.
Cons- No AC in the middle of a very hot spell of weather.
A very basic room with no drawers for storage.
A refrig that was on it's last tour of duty that keep everything warm.
A bathroom that was horrible. The shower spayed water everywhere as much as I tried to be careful.

Room Tip: Avoid in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#110 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.