We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and found our bedroom on the small side,however the bed was very comfortable and the room had everything you could need,apart from tea and coffee facilities.the location is amazing,looks really small from outside but once you get inside you will be amazed how big it is.
Reception staff are really friendly and helpful,very accommodating.
Breakfast was included in the room rate,not great on refilling food,people needed to ask for food to be cooked and filled up,once there all pleasant and filling.
Great value for money,will definitely be returning.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    692
    242
    54
    39
See reviews for
159
526
85
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends on a lost weekend in Amsterdam. Excellent location, clean and tidy rooms, friendly and efficient staff, good breakfast buffet and reasonably priced. Not luxurious but then you're not paying for that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great value for money. Right in the centre of Amsterdam, close to Dam Square, yet quiet. The building is beautiful. The rooms are clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good........great variety. Only downside was there were no facilities in the room for making a drink. There is a coffee machine downstairs at €1 per cup.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We(two couples) arrived at the Rho Hotel in the a.m after flying overnight from Canada,and landing at 6:35 am local time.We had confirmed reservations in our hands,which had been made in early December 2013.The ? manager at the desk promptly told us that the reservations had been cancelled!!! Our credit cards had expired and been renewed in Feb 2014,but instead of making any attempt to contact us,he stated that he had "emailed our travel agent " 3 times in the previous 2 weeks,and when he did not hear from her,he cancelled our "confirmed" reservations.He offered us no assistance to try to find another hotel,except for saying we could use the computer,(which was in use,then affected by a power failure) He really did not seem to care about our situation at all. Our husbands did find other accommodation,by walking the area,but it was a very difficult start to our holiday. We could not really believe that this person did not offer to make some calls to assist us.Based on this attitude we could never recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at hotel Rho for 2 nights, both with a rude awakening. At the time of our stay there was some construction going on outside of our window which woke us up early both mornings, I may aswell been wearing a hard hat it was that close. There is a total lack of sausage or cooked food for breakfast. With the option of scrambled egg, slices of cheese and tinned fruit I opted for the scrambled egg. The hotel is quite noisy inside, and could frequently hear people engaging in intercourse? However, the location is fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very central location just a few short steps from Dam Square, and within walking distance of the "girdle of canals" and other major attractions in Amsterdam. Well preserved atmospheric art deco lobby area (building originally designed as a theatre). Modern functional rooms (which could benefit from air-conditioning), spacious bathroom, good shower. Extensive buffet breakfast (often included in room rate). Helpful staff. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed three nights in this hotel in May 2014. It is in an excellent location in central Amsterdam, just off Dam Square. Given this fact our room was surprisingly quiet and all the staff were friendly and efficient. There was a good choice at the buffet style breakfast taken in pleasant surroundings. The reception area was spacious, and the common parts were all pleasantly air conditioned. Overall, we thought the hotel provided very good value for money.

Fortunately the weather during our visit to Amsterdam was unusually warm. However as our room, which was on the small side for a double, did not have air conditioning it became uncomfortably hot. In addition there was very little storage space. I would advise future guests at the Rho to be selective about their choice of room.

We would certainly stay at the Hotel Rho again if we return to the Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.