We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We like this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. Our comments are as follows:

1. The location is ideal. Very near Dam Square.
2. All the reception staff were friendly and efficient. Checking-in was a breeze.
3 The room we got was on the third floor and quiet and equipped with all essential amenities except tea/coffee maker.
4. The only minus point was that there was no light at the entrance to the room. As you enter the room the cupboard is on the right. You can't see the clothes that you keep in the cupboard. A light at the entrance should be installed if possible.
5. Breakfast is more than adequate. You have a lot of choices.
6. We will not hesitate to stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request for a room on higher floors and at the back away from Dam Square. That way the noise from Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    686
    220
    51
    36
See reviews for
142
450
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A short walk from the train station, this hotel is easy to find on the edge of the hustle and bustle of Dam Square. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I marvelled at the way they switched to the native tongue of whoever it was they were speaking to. I caused some confusion though being mistaken as both French and German at various times! (Before I had said anything I hasten to add!) The room was cosy and clean with plenty of space. It was pretty noisy all night being so close to a taxi pick up and drop off point and there was a fun fair in the square. I seemed to sleep okay though so I was either really tired or it wasn't that bad.
Breakfast was good - all the usual stuff you expect for a continental breakfast including some delicious bread you had to slice yourself. (In fact all the food I sample in Amsterdam was very good)
Everywhere seemed to be a ten or twenty minute walk away which was convenient. I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were offered 3 rooms to choose one we preferred and had a good break over the Easter holiday. The staff were smiley and helpful. The room clean and warm with safe and fridge and hot showers. The breakfast good choice and plentiful. The location ideal and bike rental very easy opposite. I would recommend the hotel and the restaurant a few doors down the Nes too.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first - then you can choose one that suits you're needs. We liked low floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights - location was perfect. About a 10minute walk to Central station and right on the corner of Dam Square. Very convenient for seeing all of Amsterdam. Room was clean and basic. Had one on the first floor with a view of the square and therefore was a bit nosey. Good to have breakfast in the morning - buffet selection of hot and cold. Staff at reception were very helpful. The hotel was exactly what was required for a city break - not luxury but then didn't spend much time in the room. Would stay again as the location and value are ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Yes, Inspired_phil has got it spot on except it is not dismal and gloomy! Has he not heard of authentic and restored? The style of the decor is probably exactly as it was when it was a theatre built in 1908 in Art Deco style. My room was delightful and had been freshly painted as there were no scuffs and marks. It was spotlessly clean with the best beds ever and a lovely bathroom with good shower. The staff were attentive and efficient. The breakfasts great. The RHO is right in the centre of everything and most sights are walkable although we used the trams a couple of times. Without a doubt I would stay here again and certainly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and adequate for a brief stay in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean, the showers hot and powerful and the beds comfy.

There are so many other great places to stay in this lovely city and the sunny nature of the staff doesn't make up for the dismal and gloomy decor of this tired, old maze of rooms that masquerades as a hotel and not a hostel.

The coffee is pretty good at breakfast - and the bread is fresh....that's probably about it. The tinned fruit salad and peaches and packets of biscuits don't count as breakfast fare for me!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is quite average but clean and in a super location. The staff were mixed, some highly friendly but some quite curt. The breakfast was plentiful and sets you up for the day ahead. Overall, I would probably stay here again as the location is a winner.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.