We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We like this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. Our comments are as follows:

1. The location is ideal. Very near Dam Square.
2. All the reception staff were friendly and efficient. Checking-in was a breeze.
3 The room we got was on the third floor and quiet and equipped with all essential amenities except tea/coffee maker.
4. The only minus point was that there was no light at the entrance to the room. As you enter the room the cupboard is on the right. You can't see the clothes that you keep in the cupboard. A light at the entrance should be installed if possible.
5. Breakfast is more than adequate. You have a lot of choices.
6. We will not hesitate to stay here again when we next visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request for a room on higher floors and at the back away from Dam Square. That way the noise from Da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    814
    291
    70
    47
See reviews for
203
644
96
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A short walk from the train station, this hotel is easy to find on the edge of the hustle and bustle of Dam Square. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I marvelled at the way they switched to the native tongue of whoever it was they were speaking to. I caused some confusion though being mistaken as both French and German at various times! (Before I had said anything I hasten to add!) The room was cosy and clean with plenty of space. It was pretty noisy all night being so close to a taxi pick up and drop off point and there was a fun fair in the square. I seemed to sleep okay though so I was either really tired or it wasn't that bad.
Breakfast was good - all the usual stuff you expect for a continental breakfast including some delicious bread you had to slice yourself. (In fact all the food I sample in Amsterdam was very good)
Everywhere seemed to be a ten or twenty minute walk away which was convenient. I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were offered 3 rooms to choose one we preferred and had a good break over the Easter holiday. The staff were smiley and helpful. The room clean and warm with safe and fridge and hot showers. The breakfast good choice and plentiful. The location ideal and bike rental very easy opposite. I would recommend the hotel and the restaurant a few doors down the Nes too.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first - then you can choose one that suits you're needs. We liked low floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights - location was perfect. About a 10minute walk to Central station and right on the corner of Dam Square. Very convenient for seeing all of Amsterdam. Room was clean and basic. Had one on the first floor with a view of the square and therefore was a bit nosey. Good to have breakfast in the morning - buffet selection of hot and cold. Staff at reception were very helpful. The hotel was exactly what was required for a city break - not luxury but then didn't spend much time in the room. Would stay again as the location and value are ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Yes, Inspired_phil has got it spot on except it is not dismal and gloomy! Has he not heard of authentic and restored? The style of the decor is probably exactly as it was when it was a theatre built in 1908 in Art Deco style. My room was delightful and had been freshly painted as there were no scuffs and marks. It was spotlessly clean with the best beds ever and a lovely bathroom with good shower. The staff were attentive and efficient. The breakfasts great. The RHO is right in the centre of everything and most sights are walkable although we used the trams a couple of times. Without a doubt I would stay here again and certainly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and adequate for a brief stay in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean, the showers hot and powerful and the beds comfy.

There are so many other great places to stay in this lovely city and the sunny nature of the staff doesn't make up for the dismal and gloomy decor of this tired, old maze of rooms that masquerades as a hotel and not a hostel.

The coffee is pretty good at breakfast - and the bread is fresh....that's probably about it. The tinned fruit salad and peaches and packets of biscuits don't count as breakfast fare for me!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is quite average but clean and in a super location. The staff were mixed, some highly friendly but some quite curt. The breakfast was plentiful and sets you up for the day ahead. Overall, I would probably stay here again as the location is a winner.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#195 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#123 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#148 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#194 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#175 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.