We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is quite average but clean and in a super location. The staff were mixed, some highly friendly but some quite curt. The breakfast was plentiful and sets you up for the day ahead. Overall, I would probably stay here again as the location is a winner.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    693
    242
    54
    39
See reviews for
160
527
85
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Rho, and would not hesitate to book again. The hotel is so convenient to the train station, literally walk out of station and take road straight in front, 10 minute walk to Dam Square and hotel sign is right there in the corner to see. Reception very friendly and asked if we would like a quiet room, which we did. This was on the 4th floor, (not a problem with the lift). First impression of room was small, but just because it was narrow and long, however as we were only going to be spending minimal time there it was more than adequate, clean and bright with two skylight windows. Fridge and safe in the room. If I had to complain about anything it would be the softness of the bed, both prefer a firm mattress, but a small price to pay. The breakfast was available until 10.30 which meant there was no need to rush down and the food was constantly topped up. Free wi fi available. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just visited Amsterdam for a short break and stayed at the RHO hotel, we had a top floor room which included a bath. The hotel is perfectly situated just off of Dam Square. All the staff were extremely helpful including reception, cleaners and breakfast room. The breakfast was good and plentiful and continually topped up giving you both hot and cold options. A very good choice for a few days in Amsterdam. Catching the train from the Airport to Central Station was very easy (4 Euros each way per person), the hotel is then a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I attended a convention in the nearby NH Krasnapolsky, a very pricey hotel right in the center of Amsterdam. Since I was alone and was not willing to spend all that money just to sleep, I looked around for an alternative and found Rho. The building is pretty old, but maintenance is pretty good. Prices were very affordable, and there was a continental breakfast included in my rate. Front desk and service in general were outstanding. I'd stay there again and recomend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location, literally you can walk to central station and everywhere else,,, good wi fi, staff helpful, comfortable and clean beds..........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The location is brilliant - very close to Dam Square and easy access to other parts of the city as well as some excellent restaurants. However, the walls are pretty thin, the shower was only just adequate and the breakfast was average (the scrambled egg looked particularly unappetizing). On the plus side though, the staff were very helpful, the beds were comfy & clean and our room on the 4th floor was quiet. Also the wifi is free.
We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors down the side street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights on our trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a good price, and is literally right in the middle of Dam Square! Amazing, amazing location. Yes, it is no hilton. However, this hotel has many positives: in room free wifi, super comfortable beds, and a lovely full breakfast is included. My friend and I were by far the only 20-somethings staying here at the time. With that being said, I am very well travelled and know many lovely hotels. This is a good deal and right around the corner from De Wallen and other nightlife! I also like that the hotel has a bike rental shop right across the street. It's also only about a 15-20 min walk from Anne Frank House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.