We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality 3 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A good quality 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have visited this hotel for more years than I remember. I love the architecture of the building with its open atrium and quirky mix and match dutch styling.

Check in has always been a slow process here, unchanged throughout history. You have to fill in a card with your name, address and passport details - remember these from pre Open Borders (Free travel in Europe). All these details are known by the hotel prior to arrving (if you have booked on-line), so actually could be simplified. Simiarly, hotel rooms could be pre-allocated to guests so we don't have to wait and watch as the receptionist tries to find the most suitable room. However, I accept this slow process as the staff are always pleasant and if I can't change it, why worry about it!

The rooms can be smaller here and look a bit dated, but I like them, the beds are very comfortable, having a fridge is great (drink and food machines in reception and shops near by).

I find the rooms clean and well cared for.

I really do like the breakfasts here - its buffet and not the widest of choices, but everything is good quality and it is quite relaxing (if you sit at the right tables away from heavy traffic (people)). The room is also quite stunning.

For me, the hotel could not be anymore convenient, right on the edge of Dam square.

Add this all together and thats why I am a returning visitor.

I would not recommend this hotel if you want standard chain hotel service or want large impressive rooms, but if you like quirkiness and good profession staff, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    724
    255
    55
    40
See reviews for
169
549
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

lots I didn't care for as a group of 8, we were not accommodate to sit together for breakfast altho they had plenty of room and their reason to much trouble to move the tables, as the table could get damaged!!!! but they took our booking of 8!! did they not think we would want to sit together, skimpy towels, and sachet type shower gel, the power shower was awful I had forgotten my adaptor, they didn't have a spare, the bar was never open, in 3 days we tried to use the bars pre dinner drinks, afternoon drinks and , after dinner drinks, not open at the moment, they told us!! well when are you open?, but it was the security that raised alarm bells, we asked for 4 sets of keys and was handed them all, and we had asked for a wrong room set,but was given them , so we could have gone to that room and stolen what ever we liked, so my tip, NEVER hand in your keys at reception, till u leave, also the store baggage room, was never ever locked, and this is Amsterdam for goodness sake, but the location was brilliant, the rooms was ok, clean, roomy and comfy, as long as you know to keep your key, and recheck your packed bag before flying, should be ok.

Room Tip: 321 was quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived around 9 am from an overnight flight and were immediately greeted by friendly receptionists...and our room was ready!!
It was on the second floor, and I asked for quiet, so we looked onto a 'courtyard' of a plant and some machinery.. who cares?
The beds were comfortable and the shower adequate with good water pressure.
The breakfast is always good.... buffet with as much as you can eat.
The staff who work on the front are great.. friendly, always willing to talk and answer questions and suggest where to eat.
This is our second visit to Amsterdam and both times we have stayed at this hotel. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, it is good value for your money and of course the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've stayed here before around 1.5yrs ago. Nothing has changed which is a good thing. Couldn't be closer to all the attractions. Clean rooms that are cleaned everyday and a really good breakfast buffet. To be honest you couldn't want anything else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Have stayed at Rho Hotel 4 times now and it gets better each time. Most recent stay was Thursday 20 February 2014 - Saturday 22 February. Excellent central location. Easy from station - 10 minute walk. You can get everywhere from here - we prefer the quiet side of Amsterdam - the canals and the Jordaan and this hotel is well placed to explore all. Rooms are fresh, clean and the beds really comfy. Have stayed in front and back rooms but find them all quite quiet.

Breakfast is varied and plentiful so good to stock up for a day's exploring. Stay here, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in feb. It was our first trip to Amsterdam so we wanted somewhere central to stay and we got it. Location is excellent as right on Dam Sq.
We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous, they had no problem recommending places to go or things to see. Breakfast was included. To be honest I wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed it each morning.
I would most definately stay here again upon return to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My partner & I checked in here Fri 14th Feb - Sun 16th Feb, paid a good price for 2 nights bed & breakfast. Excellent location right on Dam Square, very easy to spot from Damrak.
Hotel entrance & reception is of a big space & offers a lot of seating area. Check in was speedy & friendly, given a room on 2nd floor 236, over looking an alley in the next street. That was fine with us as we only slept in the room. Room very clean & equipped with essentials, beds extremely comfortable and decor was bright & modern. Breakfast in the hotel is plentiful with different choices & all buffet style so can help yourself.
Would certainly recommend this hotel & we are planning a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.