We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is the only good thing about this hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The location is the only good thing about this hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel with a group of friends, first day a friend had money and his mobile phone taken from the room, when reported to reception he was told they couldn't do anything! The hotel is tired and needs a good clean, the chairs and curtains in our room had stains on them. The free wifi does not work for the majority of the time. Only good thing about this hotel is it's location but even that would not make me stay in this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    620
    205
    48
    37
See reviews for
143
454
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is not a first-class business hotel, but for the price and the excellent central location, it is absolutely ok. It is clean and has everything you need. Not the largest breakfast buffet you have ever seen, but completely adequate. And they serve REAL orange juice, not the kind of yellow lemonade you get in many hotels finer than this. They also know how to make scrambled eggs, not the egg pudding you get in many places.

All in all, it is a three star hotel, and as such, it does what it should.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The hotel is huge, with a cavernous lobby that never had more than two people in it. The hotel's location is great: 15 minute walk from Central Station, 100 feet off Dam Square. My room was clean and adequate but on the spartan side, with blond, modular ikea-type furniture. Bathroom had been recently updated with good-size tiled, shower.
Complimentary breakfast was better than most, and large dining room with many single tables meant there was always a place to sit.
Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again on biz, but this place is far from cozy otherwise, unless you're yearning to recapture dormitory life.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is very central yet is tucked away on a side street so had a lovely peaceful nights sleep. Loved the look and feel of the hotel. Beautiful lobby. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Nothing felt too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely. Only issue with breakfast was that we couldn't find any teaspoons. Rooms nice and spacious. Stayed in room 211. Only problem with the room was no tea/coffee making facilities! Will definitely stay here again.

Thank you RHO for a lovely stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group celebrating a birthday on the 29th and 30th November. The hotel is in a great location on Dam Square and is clean and spacious if slightly dated and basic for €140 per night. The breakfast was great too.The main problem we encountered on our second night was very disturbing and the staff attitude and manner left a lot to be desired. My friend and I returned to our room at 4.30pm for a nap and to have a shower before dinner. Luckily we did and luckily I set my alarm and was awake because a man let himself into our room (218) and I found him in the process of either attempting to steal a ghd hair straightener or attempting to take the safe from the bottom of the wardrobe which was were the straightener happened to be left. Either way to wake to find a man in our room was terrifying and luckily he just left when confronted. The male receptionist questioned us in a very hostile manner and seemed to imply that we must have left the door open which i assured him we did not. We were treated like two hysterical fantasists and let me be clear we are not teenagers and were not under the influence of any substances. The lock was eventually changed on our room but afterwards I could not relax nor enjoy the night as I was certain this man somehow had access to a master key card to enable him to open our door. We reported all this again the next morning and once again were dealt with in an off hand manner. None of the day staff were aware of the incident the night previousy. I was informed there is no cctv although there is a camera above the door into reception. Nobody seemed bothered to check this although I gave a very good discription of the man to them. Having read the review previous to mine about someone s room being broken into and their lock also not disturbed, and this happened the wednesday prior to our break in, I can only conclude that the hotel has a serious problem. Someone is gaining access to their rooms and yet they do not care one bit! I advise people to stay here only if they have nothing of value to leave in the room or they plan on carrying their possessions with them. FYI the hotel safes are not screwed down which is pointless to me as they obviously can be carried off in a rucksack which our intruder had on his back! Single women beware. Very disappointing experience and not once did one person apologize to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September and it was a great place to spend a night in Amsterdam. It is in a great location right next to Dam Square and close to all of the attractions, close to the metro and trolley. The free breakfast was very good. The lobby is an old theater and is very beautiful. The rooms are basic, but adequate. Service and front desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Rho Hotel in two twin rooms. The hotel is located just off Dam Square in the heart of Amsterdam, so a wonderful location from which to explore. The rooms were spacious and very clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathrooms are a little 'old style' but nonetheless clean. The room did not have any tea or coffee making facilities which would have been good, but there is a vending machine in the foyer (which did not work when we were there but the staff very kindly made us complimentary coffee) . The staff at this hotel are fabulous! They are very welcoming and provided us with some excellent restaurant recommendations. The breakfast (both hot and cold)was varied and plentiful. The Rho Hotel was recommended to me by a friend and having stayed there I would highly recommend it to others also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.