We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

the Rho hotel is in the best location for all attractions in Amsterdam, whether you want to visit the museums or the more spicy area of the city. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. The rooms on the lower floors and looking out to dam square tend to be bigger rooms.

Room Tip: bigger rooms are on the first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    633
    208
    48
    38
See reviews for
146
470
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was there for a day earlier this month on way back from the US to India. This great hotel is just 50 meters from Dam Square. Red light district is a 10 minute walk. Good and courteous service. The breakfast is very elaborate, specially for European standards. Grand Rail Station is a 10 minute walk. You cannot get a better hotel near the Dam Square, Grand Station and Red Light area with an amazing breakfast at this cost. Its complete value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from Amsterdam with my 6 friends. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Its very central being in Dam Square for sightseeing. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and there is a great choice at breakfast time. Special mention to the reception staff they are very friendly and look after you anything you need isnt a problem a real home from home. There is a lounge and bar for sitting in and the reception area has great character. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Rho is a hotel who self-evidently are making the most of their outstanding virtue: a location that is unsurpassable. Dead-centre Amsterdam, on a corner of Dam Square, make it the ideal place to be for anyone who either wants everything close to hand or is excited by the pulse of urban activity. No problem either in finding it: with very visible signage from Dam Square, it's one hotel you almost can't miss.

The benefits don't end there, though. The staff was very friendly and efficient upon my arrival, and I have to comment upon their welcoming response to a pair who showed up on spec as I was leaving. I didn't get the slightest feeling the staff had any reluctance to offer they an (available) room - and the look of obvious relief on the pair's face when given the keys says volumes. In short, you get the feeling here you're being treated as a human being - by people who themselves are human beings rather than robots. In another sign of professionalism, they gave me a wi-fi code without me having to ask, just another sign of a staff who understand the needs of the modern business traveller.

The room I received was well-fitted and comfortable. Perhaps for me it was a trifle warmer that I would have liked when I arrived, but this was easily remedied by opening a window. No air conditioning, almost certainly because in Amsterdam this is hardly necessary, but the heating is fully controllable in-room. Furniture is basic but well-maintained. It's nice that they give you an empty fridge, not one so overflowing with expensive bar items that you can't use it. The bathroom was quite large and with everything in good order. The beds are very comfortable. No prizes here for luxury, but no problems with sleeping either.

Given the location, you might expect it to be noisy, but in fact at night my room was almost mysteriously quiet, impressive when you consider the all-hours din in this part of the city. It probably helps that they're on the "right", i.e. southern, side of Dam Square, where the streets are slightly more dignified, slightly quieter. Still, however it's amazing to have everything literally at your doorstep, and in another benefit, the central location makes it easy to make repeated forays into the city and return to drop things off and pick things up, without being inconvenienced. The price is the final convenience: given the position, it's very affordable all things considered. Of course it's quite easy to get cheaper - much cheaper - by walking a few m north on Warmoesstraat, but the lower price will get you decidedly dodgier rooms and probably iffier service for no improvement in location. As a value-for-money proposition, Rho is surely one of the best in the city centre.

Unless what you need is cosseted luxury (at commensurate prices), Rho will almost certainly satisfy. It's got everything to like in a hotel and virtually no negatives, all at prices that put it within reach of all but the most budget-minded traveller. For the business traveller in particular, it must be considered an optimum choice - and a welcome change from the generic sameness of the chains. The obvious Amsterdam hotel to go to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We've just returned from Amsterdam and, first thing, I'm writing to recommend the Rho Hotel.

Its service is friendly and efficient. We weren't quite happy with the room that was offered us so the clerk gave us the keys to four other rooms to look at and we choose one of those.

There was an Amusement Park in operation in Dam Square while we were there, with very loud music, but from the hotel we didn't hear a thing.

I started the day with freshly squeezed orange juice offered at breakfast and then moved on to the tasty yoghurt.

The hotel was very clean and in good shape. The beds were wonderful. We would recommend, though, the following changes to make staying there a bit better:
1. Stronger lights in the rooms (now it is difficult to read or pack at night).
2. Shower curtains for the showers
3. Posting the weather forecast (from Internet) in the lobby early each morning.

With best wishes for the continued success of the Rho Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardabaer
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location, just few steps from the Dam Square. The reception room is amazing and beautiful and was before a theatre, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is very good and is until 10,30. The rooms are good and have a refrigerator, not a minibar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had one night stay in Amsterdam as one of the ferry hotel deals. The Rho hotel was easy to get to from the drop off point and is just a few yards off Dam square. This isn't a luxury weekend break venue but is spot on for access to Amsterdam. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and perfectly adequate with a lovely en suite shower and toilet. There's no "full UK" breakfast but scrambled egg and the usual european version of bacon was available along with cheese, cold meat fruit etc. There are any number of bars, cafes and restaurants right on the doorstep. We fully intend to return to Amsterdam and will be staying here again. We'll be booking it ourselves online next time though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.