We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Central Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for Central Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've stayed here on business every September for the last decade. The situation is great being on Dam Square near the palace, Looks like it's a converted merchants trading house and just doesn't change over the years. The rooms aren't big and some could do with aircon but the staff are friendly and attentive and the buffet breakfast is extensive even if the bacon is very different to an English breakfast. There is no restaurant but the area is surrounded by those, mainly Argentinian Steak houses (from Brasil). Recommend The Dam Cafe (Louis Bar) just around the corner for a beer as the pubs in Dam itself are charging Euro 8.50 for a large beer. Clean and basic bedrooms with good en-suite. The good thing about the Rho is that their room rate isn't extortionate for being so centrally placed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    635
    214
    48
    38
See reviews for
146
475
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good hotel, ideally located in Dam Square. Rooms are clean and comfortable, satisfying breakfast, helpful staff. It's the perfect place to stay when visiting Amsterdam.
Will certainly stay here again, as we liked this city so much and surely will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights. I chose the hotel because of its proximity to Centraal Station and Dam Square. I wanted to be near everything and centrally located and this hotel was a perfect choice for that. The breakfast, included in my room rate, was excellent; of the 4 hotels I stayed in during my trip to Europe, the Rho had the best one. Customer service and assistance at the Lobby desk was always extremely friendly. Even the elevator wasn't slow as molasses like many Euro hotels. I also picked this hotel because my room had a little fridge in it which was very convenient and allowed me to have cold drinks when I wanted them. The only complaint I have was that the shower temperature was at best tepid. Other than that, I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stay at this hotel on the 6th night of our cycling tour

Staff very friendly and helpful

Breakfast was slight above average

Located about 20 yeards off of Damm Square the hotel is in an ideal location

Room were tidy and the bedding clean - The rooms needs a lick of paint to freshen them up

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The RHO hotel is a 3 star rated hotel and it lives up to and perhaps in some areas surpasses that grading. It does not have many frills to it and lacks any grand opulence but provides clean, comfortable and appropriate accommodation that makes it a very likeable and pleasant hotel.

Hotel prices in Amsterdam have become expensive over the years and it is difficult now to find a hotel that truly represents good value for money. However, my wife and I - who stayed at the RHO hotel for three nights from 7th-10th September - feel that in comparison to others, we found the nearest thing in 'Dam to best value.

The strength of the hotel is indeed its central location. Just off Dam Square, good transport links, and close to the centrum canal areas, it is a straightforward 5 - 10 minutes stroll down the Damrak from Central Station.

The reception staff were pleasant and friendly and the hotel atrium is large, light and airy. We were to test their customer service quickly enough.

From other reviews, we had gathered that the hotel is made up of all bits of accommodation attachments and therefore there can be a big difference in the rooms.

We were firstly allocated room 287 which we arrived at by going through the breakfast area. However, we disliked this room immediately. Although clean, it was small and lacked a bath; only having a wet room.

We returned to reception desk and asked for a change of rooms. I am pleased to say that this request was met with the minimum of fuss. We were then allocated room 419 - a much larger room (in a different part of the hotel as we reached it from the lift in the corner of the atrium opposite the breakfast room) and which had a large, deep bath.

The room had a fridge - handy for keeping a beer or water cold - and a electronic safe for use, both free of charge. It has a flat screen TV which showed both BBC 1 and BBC World News, handy for keeping in touch. The beds ( twin beds) were very comfortable indeed and this coupled with the fact, that we never heard a sound throughout the night from anywhere, meant that a good nights sleep was had.

What did the room lack? - well as said by others, tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcomed as well as more storage space viz drawers. A lack of them meant some of your clothes stayed in the case.

The breakfast was more than ample. Whereas it was very much the continental affair it was well stocked with bacon and scrambled eggs; cold meats and cheese etc and also smoked salmon. Several breads; pastries; juices - which were all regularly and freshly brought out - made for a sufficient breakfast in an area that was also light and welcoming.

The left luggage room - which is locked - is within sight of the reception staff who hold the key for its entrance.

For exploring Amsterdam, the RHO hotel is ideally located. It even has its own rent-a -bike shop across the lane and is within easy reach of everything.

There may be better hotels in Amsterdam but I would suggest that you will either pay a much higher rate for them or their location will be much more inconvenient.

The RHO is a 'honest' hotel insomuch as it is a 3 Star hotel, and offers facilities for such a hotel which in turn I believe provides the best rates for such a graded central hotel in a busy city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful three days here at this hotel. The location is unsurpassed - right on the corner of Dam Square. Our room, although a bit tired looking,was cleaned every day and very quiet. there was no air conditioning, however, and the temperatures reached 30 degrees while we were there, but there was a fan in the room and the window opened. Breakfast was a superb and substantial all you can eat buffet with bacon and scrambled eggs as well as the usual meats and cheeses and breads you would expect. I would stay at the Rho again with no hesitation, it was fantastic value and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel right in the center only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam central train station. Very easy to locate from Damrak. Staff very friendly and always helpful, Good sized room which was clean and had all amenities. Towels changed every day. Free Wi Fi worked perfectly and added bonus of a fridge and safe in the room. Great choice of food for breakfast and as much as you want to eat. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: room 225 was at the back and mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.