We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stay at this hotel on the 6th night of our cycling tour

Staff very friendly and helpful

Breakfast was slight above average

Located about 20 yeards off of Damm Square the hotel is in an ideal location

Room were tidy and the bedding clean - The rooms needs a lick of paint to freshen them up

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    692
    242
    54
    39
See reviews for
159
526
85
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham City, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The RHO hotel is a 3 star rated hotel and it lives up to and perhaps in some areas surpasses that grading. It does not have many frills to it and lacks any grand opulence but provides clean, comfortable and appropriate accommodation that makes it a very likeable and pleasant hotel.

Hotel prices in Amsterdam have become expensive over the years and it is difficult now to find a hotel that truly represents good value for money. However, my wife and I - who stayed at the RHO hotel for three nights from 7th-10th September - feel that in comparison to others, we found the nearest thing in 'Dam to best value.

The strength of the hotel is indeed its central location. Just off Dam Square, good transport links, and close to the centrum canal areas, it is a straightforward 5 - 10 minutes stroll down the Damrak from Central Station.

The reception staff were pleasant and friendly and the hotel atrium is large, light and airy. We were to test their customer service quickly enough.

From other reviews, we had gathered that the hotel is made up of all bits of accommodation attachments and therefore there can be a big difference in the rooms.

We were firstly allocated room 287 which we arrived at by going through the breakfast area. However, we disliked this room immediately. Although clean, it was small and lacked a bath; only having a wet room.

We returned to reception desk and asked for a change of rooms. I am pleased to say that this request was met with the minimum of fuss. We were then allocated room 419 - a much larger room (in a different part of the hotel as we reached it from the lift in the corner of the atrium opposite the breakfast room) and which had a large, deep bath.

The room had a fridge - handy for keeping a beer or water cold - and a electronic safe for use, both free of charge. It has a flat screen TV which showed both BBC 1 and BBC World News, handy for keeping in touch. The beds ( twin beds) were very comfortable indeed and this coupled with the fact, that we never heard a sound throughout the night from anywhere, meant that a good nights sleep was had.

What did the room lack? - well as said by others, tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcomed as well as more storage space viz drawers. A lack of them meant some of your clothes stayed in the case.

The breakfast was more than ample. Whereas it was very much the continental affair it was well stocked with bacon and scrambled eggs; cold meats and cheese etc and also smoked salmon. Several breads; pastries; juices - which were all regularly and freshly brought out - made for a sufficient breakfast in an area that was also light and welcoming.

The left luggage room - which is locked - is within sight of the reception staff who hold the key for its entrance.

For exploring Amsterdam, the RHO hotel is ideally located. It even has its own rent-a -bike shop across the lane and is within easy reach of everything.

There may be better hotels in Amsterdam but I would suggest that you will either pay a much higher rate for them or their location will be much more inconvenient.

The RHO is a 'honest' hotel insomuch as it is a 3 Star hotel, and offers facilities for such a hotel which in turn I believe provides the best rates for such a graded central hotel in a busy city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful three days here at this hotel. The location is unsurpassed - right on the corner of Dam Square. Our room, although a bit tired looking,was cleaned every day and very quiet. there was no air conditioning, however, and the temperatures reached 30 degrees while we were there, but there was a fan in the room and the window opened. Breakfast was a superb and substantial all you can eat buffet with bacon and scrambled eggs as well as the usual meats and cheeses and breads you would expect. I would stay at the Rho again with no hesitation, it was fantastic value and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel right in the center only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam central train station. Very easy to locate from Damrak. Staff very friendly and always helpful, Good sized room which was clean and had all amenities. Towels changed every day. Free Wi Fi worked perfectly and added bonus of a fridge and safe in the room. Great choice of food for breakfast and as much as you want to eat. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: room 225 was at the back and mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel I can recommend to everyone. The location is in center of the city, close to Red Light District, but it is not directed over there so the noise or any of RLD atmoshpere can disturb staying in this hotel. Very easy to get on foot from Central Station.The staff was extremely helpful. They speak almost in every language, they will give u tips what to visit in Amsterdam, where to go, how to get there. Thanx 4 that! The hotel is very clean, rooms r big enough with comfortable beds, bathroom is quite big, fridge in the room. The coffee/tea maker in room could b helpful. Breakfast was delicious, fresh juice, tea, coffee, cocoa to drink. Warm dishes, fresh bread, cookies....very very tasty. U can also leave ur luggage in this hotel if there is such a need. Bars, pubs, shops and all the Amsterdam tourist attractions around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was in a good location but we had a few bad experiences. We had to change rooms 3 times. The first room was so small we could hardly move around. We were moved to large room but the wifi reception wasn't terrible. We were then moved to another room and the fridge wasn't working. The staff changed over the fridge for us after we requested this. There was no air conditioning and it was difficult to sleep at night as it was summer. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rho wasn't our first choice as we were doing a last minute DFDS ferry Tyneside - Amsterdam trip and we got bumped hotel wise at the last moment.

I hadn't even had time to check out the reviews on TA so it was with a bit trepidation that we set off on foot from the coach drop-off point opposite the main railway station.

The Amsterdam ferry is a daily trip leaving 17.00 and arriving at 09.30 then its a coach job into either city. This leaves you with only 5 hours actually in the city if you are doing the overnight return..

We were staying a couple of nights so this meant we had to dump our bags off at the hotel late morning probably before check-in time.

This was no problem whatsoever. The hotel was 8-10 minutes walk with wheelie-cases and the guy on the hotel reception was a joy. Not only were we able to check in but we had a good laugh about traveling by ferry versus flying, got a mini guided tour of the way to our lift and the breakfast room and generally were made to feel a welcomed guest. Sounds nothing but in a city where the majority of your visitors you will probably never see ever again he went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

This was appreciated at the time but pleasant craic was repeated every morning we crossed with him. A credit to the hotel as he was a star.

Room was great. A basic 3*, £67 / night B&B deal, clean, tidy, spacious enough room with everything you needed, quiet, single duvets on a double bed to prevent arguments, no noise from other guests or from the room upgrade work over the corridor and a really pleasant cleaner.

I am not an expert on breakfasts as I don't like to see other people in the morning especially if they are eating (Mr Grumpy!) but this was a 'holiday' My wife on the other hand is a hotel breakfast specialist. She gave it 5*'s as there was a great range of food, you could sit where you wanted, it was self service but the daily changing breakfast room staff who really were just cleaning and replenishing all the time were happy to chat if you spoke and I saw them help out a few people who were confused about how to 'gan on' in a pleasant unobtrusive sort of way.

Finishing off the stay the same way we started; the ferry coach didn't leave till 16.00 so we needed to store our bags. Again, no problem.

I will remember this hotel the next time I have to stay in A'dam probably more for the guy on reception than anything else but a great place which does exactly what it says on the can.

Room Tip: We were in 490 in the roof overlooking Nes (street) It was quiet (for the centre of a city), light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.