We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful three days here at this hotel. The location is unsurpassed - right on the corner of Dam Square. Our room, although a bit tired looking,was cleaned every day and very quiet. there was no air conditioning, however, and the temperatures reached 30 degrees while we were there, but there was a fan in the room and the window opened. Breakfast was a superb and substantial all you can eat buffet with bacon and scrambled eggs as well as the usual meats and cheeses and breads you would expect. I would stay at the Rho again with no hesitation, it was fantastic value and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    686
    220
    51
    36
See reviews for
142
450
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel right in the center only a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam central train station. Very easy to locate from Damrak. Staff very friendly and always helpful, Good sized room which was clean and had all amenities. Towels changed every day. Free Wi Fi worked perfectly and added bonus of a fridge and safe in the room. Great choice of food for breakfast and as much as you want to eat. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: room 225 was at the back and mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel I can recommend to everyone. The location is in center of the city, close to Red Light District, but it is not directed over there so the noise or any of RLD atmoshpere can disturb staying in this hotel. Very easy to get on foot from Central Station.The staff was extremely helpful. They speak almost in every language, they will give u tips what to visit in Amsterdam, where to go, how to get there. Thanx 4 that! The hotel is very clean, rooms r big enough with comfortable beds, bathroom is quite big, fridge in the room. The coffee/tea maker in room could b helpful. Breakfast was delicious, fresh juice, tea, coffee, cocoa to drink. Warm dishes, fresh bread, cookies....very very tasty. U can also leave ur luggage in this hotel if there is such a need. Bars, pubs, shops and all the Amsterdam tourist attractions around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was in a good location but we had a few bad experiences. We had to change rooms 3 times. The first room was so small we could hardly move around. We were moved to large room but the wifi reception wasn't terrible. We were then moved to another room and the fridge wasn't working. The staff changed over the fridge for us after we requested this. There was no air conditioning and it was difficult to sleep at night as it was summer. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the room before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Rho wasn't our first choice as we were doing a last minute DFDS ferry Tyneside - Amsterdam trip and we got bumped hotel wise at the last moment.

I hadn't even had time to check out the reviews on TA so it was with a bit trepidation that we set off on foot from the coach drop-off point opposite the main railway station.

The Amsterdam ferry is a daily trip leaving 17.00 and arriving at 09.30 then its a coach job into either city. This leaves you with only 5 hours actually in the city if you are doing the overnight return..

We were staying a couple of nights so this meant we had to dump our bags off at the hotel late morning probably before check-in time.

This was no problem whatsoever. The hotel was 8-10 minutes walk with wheelie-cases and the guy on the hotel reception was a joy. Not only were we able to check in but we had a good laugh about traveling by ferry versus flying, got a mini guided tour of the way to our lift and the breakfast room and generally were made to feel a welcomed guest. Sounds nothing but in a city where the majority of your visitors you will probably never see ever again he went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

This was appreciated at the time but pleasant craic was repeated every morning we crossed with him. A credit to the hotel as he was a star.

Room was great. A basic 3*, £67 / night B&B deal, clean, tidy, spacious enough room with everything you needed, quiet, single duvets on a double bed to prevent arguments, no noise from other guests or from the room upgrade work over the corridor and a really pleasant cleaner.

I am not an expert on breakfasts as I don't like to see other people in the morning especially if they are eating (Mr Grumpy!) but this was a 'holiday' My wife on the other hand is a hotel breakfast specialist. She gave it 5*'s as there was a great range of food, you could sit where you wanted, it was self service but the daily changing breakfast room staff who really were just cleaning and replenishing all the time were happy to chat if you spoke and I saw them help out a few people who were confused about how to 'gan on' in a pleasant unobtrusive sort of way.

Finishing off the stay the same way we started; the ferry coach didn't leave till 16.00 so we needed to store our bags. Again, no problem.

I will remember this hotel the next time I have to stay in A'dam probably more for the guy on reception than anything else but a great place which does exactly what it says on the can.

Room Tip: We were in 490 in the roof overlooking Nes (street) It was quiet (for the centre of a city), light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Easy access to all locations , very excellent location of the hotel it is very near to central station , C & A, Madame Tussaude museum, but many much noise at the evening form Dam square which is very nearby

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The most comfortable beds and pillows ever and never had I had pancakes so fluffy and delicious!!! The rooms were cleaned daily and just while you were eating breakfast! Which as I mentioned before... Fantastic!
The highlight of this old antique like building are the beds!!! If you don't have a great nights rest in these babies I don't know what's wrong with you! I dream to have a mattress like the one I had there.
Downfall- tiny and only valid in summer was no air conditioning. But it wasn't really needed when I was there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.