We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet City Center Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet City Center Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You could not ask for a more convenient touring location, just a matter of feet from the Dam Square city center. We checked in hours before the official time and they accommodated us. We asked for quiet rooms, so we didn't have a view, but the peaceful sleep was well worth it. The staff, excepting one gentleman, were very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    725
    256
    55
    40
See reviews for
170
550
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It has been said by many before but the key to this place is location which is beyond excellent. You will find this hotel no matter how late you get back. Staff are perfectly adequate but a bit on the formal side. We stayed on the top floor and II would recommend this as you are up above the rooftops of this very pretty part of Amsterdam Bathroom was great only downside was the walls were a bit thin. Also the Breakfast was a lot better that some of the reviews here led be to believe it would be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from a stay here. Hotel is very centrally located right off dam sq. Rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable if a little noisy. Offers secure on site parking for ?35 per day. Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The name of the game is the location. The Hotel is located in Nes street just near the dam square- not hard to find and has available parking to reserve.
Me and my mom went for a business trip to Netherlands and Belgium, and for the finale we had 3 days to spend in Amsterdam. This is not my first time in Amsterdam so we knew what we really needed – a hotel with a good location.
What we didn't know it will lower significant the quality of the hotel.
We parked the car in the garage, the receptionist was nice and funny (everyone who stays there knows their humor).
We went up to the room that was requested in the reservation as a non-smoking room. The room was stinking from cigarettes smoke and ash. Although the room that was provided was supposed to be non-smoking, it was smoked in.
It was very basic, no AC- only a fan (I think there was heating but was not needed),
no bathtub, only a simple shower that wasn't planned very well - all the water was just going everywhere. Windows were going upwards and were very hard to lift. But there was a Flat TV.
Flat TV? Why would I need it? Spend more on normal AC'S and not Flat TV's. Who comes to Amsterdam to watch TV? The only thing you need is a good nice sleep from now and then after long walks and nights.
We decided not to change the room, we accepted it as it is and continued the trip.
The day after, bed linens hasn't been arranged until 4pm. From the start, we had only one towel and after 3 times asking, the receptionist himself got upstairs to our room and gave us 5 towels that wasn't changed the whole trip!


Elevator is just scary! good we were on the first level because every time you get into the elevator and press on a level number, the elevator jumps up and down - like recalibration the current floor cause it wasn't been correctly on in (5cm down the floor level).
We wanted to take the stairs that was supposed to be an emergency exit but the door was locked! What will happen in a fire?
Breakfast was OK, had fresh juice, toasting machine, not everything was fresh but was OK.

On the last day we came to the room after a long walk, visiting the Rijksmuseum and Albert market and shopping streets of Amsterdam, we crashed into bed and woke up with no passports. We started checking every bag, suitcase, sweatshirt, jeans and came up with nothing. We went downstairs to the receptionist that stored our laptop in a safe and told us to go to the Police. We filed our statement, went back to the room and there it the passports was- inside a bag we hadn't use for a few days and was searched in!

We didn't sleep all night afraid there maybe was a break into our room, also there was loud music from the room next door all night. When we asked the receptionists about that option they were all like "In our hotel? Break in? Never!" and didn't bring the option of looking in the surveillance cameras.
Something you need to know also is that you deposit both of your car keys and the room key every time you leave the hotel at the reception.

I would think twice if to go to Rho Hotel, if you're a few friends chilling out in Amsterdam - This is a great hotel for you as it's cheaper than most hotels and is located right in the center near Dam Square.
But if you're a couple or a family coming for a vacation I think you will be a bit disappointed and other hotels maybe worth a few euros more just for a quiet sleep.

Room Tip: If you decided to stay here, be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The first thing to comment on with this hotel is undoubtedly its location, right off Dam square in the centre of Amsterdam. This meant we were close enough to everything that is going on and still got a good nights sleep as the hotel is just down a side street off the square so there was no noise from the stag weekends in the city centre. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the hotel also offered free Internet access which is a nice gesture. The all you can eat buffet breakfast was one of the best we have came across anywhere we have been with a large selection of good quality food to choose from. This all contributed to the trip being excellent value for not that much money and so we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights before our Baltic cruise in May and could not have been happier with Rho. It was so easy to walk with our luggage from the train station and we were near everything. Our room was spotless, bed was comfortable, and breakfast buffet was huge. It was a little noisy outside our window but even though it was a holiday weekend it got quiet at a reasonable time. However, it was cool when we were there and we did not need to open our windows so during warm weather noise may be an issue. Also, we thought the price was very fair for the excellent location and staff was very helpful. We would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the wooden shoe at the store across the alley. Everyone wants their pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is almost on Dam square in central Amsterdam, so is ideally situated for the city. 15 min walk to Central station, although the tram stop is 200m away if you don't want to walk. The hotel is scrupulously clean, and the room I had was of good size. The quilt on the bed was a very odd shape and size though, and if it had been cold, this could have been a problem. The bathroom was modern, but lacked a thermostat on the shower, so the temperature fluctuated noticeably. Fantastic Art Deco reception, but the remainder of the hotel is a bit bland. View from the window was of the window opposite, but this is a city centre hotel. Overall perfectly comfortable, and friendly staff, but just rather unexciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.