We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here 1 night in Feb with my boyfriend and sister. It was a lot bigger than I expected! Greeted by a lovely staff member. One thing that I didn't like was that I asked for a non smoking room but when we arrived my room smelt like smoke. Not sure whether it was a smoking room or not but we opened the window and left it for the day and it was perfectly fine and we were only staying the one night anyway so it didn't worry me.

Great location! right near Dam Square and a short walk from the station. Great value for money. Buffet breakfast is included which was very good.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    617
    205
    48
    37
See reviews for
142
451
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel probably once a year for the last 8 years or so. The rooms are quite variable depending on which part of the hotel you end up in (I think it is made up of several quirky old buildings joined together!) but none of them are poor. Reception staff are excellent and cleaning is good. The rooms are quite warm but this is not a problem with the window open a bit. Good free wifi etc.
The best thing is the location which just couldn't be better (right on Dam Square), and given this the hotel is good value for money. You can walk to the hotel no problem from Central station by the way, so don't waste money on a taxi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel in the very centre of Amsterdam. Very convenient location. All major sites of interest are located nearby. Very friendly staff. Nice lobby (former theatre). Tasty breakfast and clean room. Very good price-quality ratio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely! Just off Dam Square. Comfortable rooms, stylish old hotel (converted old theatre). Very friendly helpful staff. Excellent breakfast selection, really could last all day on it!! Only one thing would have made it perfect and that would be facility to make hot drinks in rooms - instead a drinks machine was available in the lobby, but was out of order for our stay :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we stayed at the RHO hotel for two nights as a weekend break and all i have to say is....wow. the hotel was immaculate. reception staff amazingly helpful and always willing to show us where to go, even mapping out where you have to go on the map. room was spacious for three and very pretty. only downfall was there wasnt much in the way of room lighting. perfect location, as was a 5 min walk from train station and on dam square itself. locals are the friendliest people ive ever had the privilege to meet, always helping you to find your destined location.

Room Tip: we had a floor on the 2nd level with a shower bathroom. room faced away from dam square so didnt hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is right at the center of it all,Dam Square is on your doorstep. It's a basic hotel but perfect for a couple of nights stay. Staff very nice,even if there wasnt room for all 6 of us in the breakfast room. Rooms are a bit old fashioned but comfortable,would def stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The inclusion of breakfast and the localtion just off Dam Square, were the reasons I selected this hotel. It made a great base within walking distance to all the main attractions, shops and bars. The foyer of the hotel is large in art deco style. The reception staff are probably the most friendly and helpful I've met. Nothing too much trouble and with excellent English. We had a room with a double bed at the side of the hotel. Admittedly it had just one small window and both it and the bathroom were fairly basic, but both were spotlessly clean. We had 3 nights brilliant sleep as the bed was extremely comfortable and we were never disturbed by noise either inside or outside the hotel. Breakfast was very decent and served in a lovely room where the staff were constantly replenishing the food and clearing tables. If you leave the hotel and turn left you'll find yourself in the theatre area of the city with lots of little bistro type restaurants, quirky shops and less crowded streets and canals. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rho and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Apparently twin bedded rooms are slightly larger than a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.