We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rho, basic, central.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hotel Rho, basic, central.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Rho in Feb 2012.
If you want to be in the centre of everthing then Rho is where you want to be. Right on Dam square, 5-10 minutes walk from central station, 30 second walk from tram and bus stops. No walk to get to brown cafes, bars, resturants or red light district.
Rooms are basic, staff are friendly and breakfast will set you up for the day.
Cheap, cheeful and satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    649
    216
    49
    38
See reviews for
148
483
81
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We moved to this hotel from the Amstel Botel. The staff were very friendly and helpful aspecially at the reception desk. The contrast from the Botel gave us a good feeling for the rest of our stay. Our room was large, light and clean.

This hotel is in an excellent location for the very centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. I think
Amsterdam has to be the easiest place to get around and a breeze from arrival.We got the train to Central Station and walked to the hotel in under 15 minutes (from a google walking route)! Walked everywhere once there too!
Adequate and clean rooms very peaceful at night with comfortable beds and clean sheets daily! We arrived at 11 am and hotel was very busy and as we had booked a double room they were apologetic we may not be able to check in early but they had one double ready which I got the impression we didn't have to accept! It was fine all we look for is cleanliness and comfort and we certainly got this. I knew there were no tea and coffee facilities which is often the case so I took my travel kettle. There is a machine in the lobby where you can get tea or coffee for €1 at any time. Free wifi a big bonus as not all bars and restaurants have this.

Two PCs just off main reception area as well as communal iron and ironing board.

Great choice at breakfast too and I noted some hotels add this on so overall great value for money! Staff very helpful too, would stay here again.

A tip - if visiting any museums well worth pre booking where possible on line to avoid the queues and missing other sites and attractions of this beautiful city we did this and were so pleased we did.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed here for a short break.The location was perfect, just off Dam Square.The outside was not very attactive but the rooms spacious and clean and the staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was very good, with a good selection.Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a good hotel right in the centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Last week my husband and I stayed at Rho hotel for 5 nights. As my husband was busy for business, I was mostly alone. Thanks God for the great location of the hotel and it's helpful and friendly staff. At the corner of Dam square it is almost near to many attractions and shopping sites. Amasing Madam Taussud's museum is just a few steps away and if you crave for shopping, Kalverstraat near the hotel is a good choice. There are many restaurants and fast foods around. The most important point is the liveliness of the streets around till midnight. Unlike most of the districts of the city that become so quiet and almost closed after sunset, you can still enjoy exploring around. About the hotel, I would like to say that the rooms are decent and clean. At the reception, friendly and helpful staff do their best to fulfill your needs. Despite a request for too early check-in, we could get our keys so soon. I would like to add that you can enjoy a great breakfast with a good variety of choices despite staying in a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A great hotel right in the city. Walking distance to dam square and central rail station. Also close to a tram station. Very close to warmoesstraat. I had a nice attic room. The rooms are standard but very clean. Breakfast with a very good selection on meet, cheese, fruit, coffee etc. They have great room rates for Amsterdam! I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam and will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic East Coast, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stay here regularly for business. The location is excellent, right at Dam Square in the City Center. On-site secure parking, clean rooms and included breakfast complete the deal for me.

There's also Wifi included, a nice lobby with plenty of seating areas. They are regularly renovating various parts of the property.

I've been loyal to them for over a year and will continue to stay here on my visits to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I prefer to ask for a room that is not on the street, these tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.