We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Rho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I have stayed here a few times and its in a great location, just the other side of Dam Square. Very reasonable and impressive interior, rooms are great and as you go to your room you have a view from a balcony area down on to reception. Nice friendly little bar area and big breakfast area set aside in the morning - typical Dutch breakfast which is more than sufficient for the day ahead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    750
    267
    60
    42
See reviews for
181
576
92
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel many times, and have booked again for this year. It has everything you need. Ideal location, cracking breakfast and clean rooms. On the down side some rooms are a little poky but as we don't spend much time in there it's not a problem.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff are more than happy to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011 and was amazed at the location and quality.

The room we got had 2 singles, very nicely sized room (be warned we did hear from some guests that their rooms were on the small side)... breakfast was very good with a whole selection of packed goodies, so if you felt the urge you could always take something back to your room.

We were lucky enough to be at the back of the hotel so it was extremely quiet, but again, we spoke to a couple of people who said their rooms were either at the front and got noise from the street or were by the lift.

All in all a good hotel, pretty good value for money with it's central location, but I would not say this is a budget hotel.

Can be pricy, but that's the price you pay for such a great location.

We would often go back to our room for a quick nap early evening and then wonde the streets in the early hours right through till dawn.

Down sides were:

Safe did not work, neither did the fridge (we actually locked out belongings in the fridge as it has a lock on it???? god knows why)

Bin in room is tiny.... and I would opt to take my case down to central station rather than leave it in the store room, as with many hotels in Amsterdam (this one is not the exception) when you come to get your case they suddenly slap an additional bill on you claiming damages were found in your room or the room was overly dirty.

But apart from that not a bad hotel at all.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the back of the hotel, far more quiet than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv i
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

You must have reservation few weeks before otherwise you will not find a room...
Located in a quiet street very close to dam square. Nice hotel we will defenetly come again.

Room Tip: ask 4 the corner room its much bigger and facing the street. some romms dont have wifi conection. m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was my 13th stay in Amsterdam and by far the worst.our room was the size of a shoe box.my 2 friends wer on another floor and there room was a lot bigger.our bathroom was a wet room meaning its a toilet and a shower in 1 room with no shower curtain so if I wanted to go to toilet after gf had a shower the whole bathroom floor would be wet. I booked this hotel because I seen on a website that it was ok to smoke in.goin to my room everyday was a smell of smoke in the coredoor.the bin in the room was tiny so we had to put rubbish in a shopping bag which we left neatly. I was shocked on checkout when the guy at the desk tried to charge 70 euro for cleanin.he came across extremely aggressive and arrogant.all the room needed was a Hoovering and a window open and that does not cost 70.my gf felt she had to give the 70 in case we couldn't get our case back out of lock up.we've never felt this ripped off anywhere we've stayed!Ive been around the world in different hotels and I've never been treated like this.the city is beautiful but stay clear of this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The goods :
-The location, Dam Square
-For such a location you can get pretty good deals, Swissotel and NH for instance are around but you could use the money in local entertainements
-A bike rental shop belonging to the hotel, 12Eur/day and you can keep it 'til 10pm
-Big Breakfast buffet included
-Free wireless Internet connection
-Friendly and helpful staff

The bads:
-Walls are kind of thin so if there are loud noises going on, you will hear them
-internet connection is very slow when not in the lobby
-Canned fruits at the breakfast buffet are NOT 3 stars hotel quality

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to elevator if you don't want to be disturb by loud noises by guests passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perhshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at the rho hotel for 3 nights at new year for my 60th birthday with freinds and the staff at reception couldnt be more helpful . On my day of departure my flight wasnt untill the evening . My health wasnt to good that day. They let me stay in the room for as long as i needed it and asked if there was anything else they could do.First class. The location of the hotel is good just of dam square walking distance to shops bars resturants.Rooms are clean and a good size.Great breakfast. Will be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: i would prefer a room on a higher floor facing the front onto dam square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.