We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Amsterdam, but cheap rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of RHO Hotel

Save Saved
You added RHO Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RHO Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“In the heart of Amsterdam, but cheap rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam...so please be ready to hear the sounds of the city at all hours of the day and night! The hotel is right around the corner from The Dam and within 2 blocks of the Red Light district, several major shopping streets, and the tram lines. We walked about 10 mins from the Centraal Station to get to the RHO. There are no canal boats that pass near there. The hotel itself seems nice until you get up into the rooms. Despite elevators, we still needed to carry our suitcases up several short stairs, seemingly randomly placed. The room was VERY small. We were given the option of 1 big bed or two twins. I (mistakenly?) asked for the 1 "big" bed and was given a room with a very small double bed. There wasn't much space in the room, and we had to use the bed to access our suitcase. There was a flat screen TV in the room, with 1 english station (CNN Europe). Breakfast was included in the price but we had to wait in line one day because of the crowd. The room is large, but they have a LOT of guests! Breakfast included scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon, sliced meats and cheeses, yogurt, cereals, breads, pancakes (real cakes, not light fluffy ones we expect in the states), pastries, orange juice, coffee and teas. The staff spoke very good english and was very helpful. The keys are unique and should be turned in before you leave the hotel. If you lose the key, it can easily be traced back to your room, which isn't safe. The bathroom was small, but adequate. The towels were thin, but the worst part was the lack of water pressure (we were only on the 2nd floor) and the fact that the water temperature kept fluctuating between freezing and scalding with no rhyme or reason. The bed, as I said before, was small, but generally comfortable. There was 1 extra pillow (for a total of 3) which were not that comfortable at all. I did not sleep well because of the street noise (people yelling and carrying on well into the wee hours of the night despite it being Tues-Thurs) as well as the street cleaners and garbage trucks.

Room Tip: See if there is an inside room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    633
    208
    48
    38
See reviews for
146
470
79
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

I was impressed with the Rho hotel on my first visit to Amsterdam 5 years ago, and having just returned from my second visit I have once again not been disappointed. The only real improvement would be in the provision of tea and coffee in the rooms, but everything else was really good. Our room size was good, the bathroom was very spacious with a massive bath and lovely hot shower, and the beds are comfortable. There is also a good area for storing suitcases. We didn't hear any noise from the corridors and there was no smell of cigarette smoke.

I was surprised by the reviewer who thought the breakfast set-up was disorganised, as I don't know how it could have been any more organised; the wide range of options are extremely clearly laid out, and bacon and eggs are regularly replenished by the numerous breakfast staff. The staff were very attentive, clearing tables as soon as people left the room. They even came around to offer refills of coffee.

The location of the hotel is excellent. We used the Connexxion hotel shuttle bus, which takes you door to door, but if you were to take the train from the airport the walk from the station to the hotel is only approx 10 minutes, along one main road, so very easy to find the hotel. The staff are efficient, and there's no problem leaving your bags after check out as there is a luggage room.

One restaurant recommendation : Luden brasserie on Spuistraat.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend in March 2011.
We found the hotel to be in a prime location and the room we had which was a double bedded room was clean ,tidy and with no problems.
The only thing is it has no tea making facilities but otheriwse it was good.A bit noisy at night but thats Amsterdam.
The staff where ok at reception some a bit offish but no problem.
The problem which is only minor was the breakfast which could definetely be improved.Sometimes there was no scrambled egg and it was badly organised.
apart from that I would go back tomorrow.
If you go you will enjoy your stay its right on the doorstep of all the action.
Happy holidays.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

stayed here for 1 night only (shame it was'nt for longer),as this is a very friendly and very well located hotel .
The rho is easy to find, just beside madam tussauds over the road.on entering the hotel before i even said hello the gent behind the desk said "hello you must be mr... and knew who we were and welcomed us warmly.we were politely informed that our room wasn't ready but could leave our luggage till later' which we did. came back to hotel after 1 30 p.m to find our room was ready.As there were three of us we were allocated a triple room on the 2nd floor. the room was very spacious, clean warm and bright.
The beds were comfortable and the room was on the side street so was very quiet and made for a great nights sleep!.
breakfast was a delight, lovely crispy bacon scambled egg etc ham, cheeses, fresh uncut breads(3 or 4 different kinds), cereals, fruit tea & coffee(lovely stong coffee) andthe best thing for me was the freshly squeezed orange juice- yes it really was PROPER juice, best i've ever had in any hotel EVER!! The breakfast room is spacious clean and bright and the staff are friendly and efficient.
The rho is very central right on dam square next to shops, trams, red light district, restaurants,etc.
when visiting amsterdam next time i would definitely choose this hotel again,no hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I had my hen weekend in Amsterdam last weekend and it was awesome! The hotel is perectly located, the staff very friendly, rooms very comfortable, the breakfast is amazing, all in all 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Located near Dam Square, RHO Hotel is very well situated; e.g. walking distance from railway station, close to all tram lines. There are hundreds of restaurants etc. in the vicinity.

Single room was small but clean. Bathroom was rather big and also clean. The room was very hot when I entered - luckily the heating radiator could be tunred off. The downside was that it could only be either on (=hot) or off.

There was a safe in the room but no key to it. Key couldn't be found at the reception either but there was a safe I could use for free. Staff was always happy to help.

Wi-fi was free and worked very well. There are also two computers, one with a printer, in the lobby.

Breakfast room was spacious and the selction of food was versatile from pancakes to fresh fruit.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Delightful former-theatre conversion, superbly placed off Dam Square, our well-insulated room was on 3rd floor facing quiet side street. Staff very friendly and helpful. Pleasant buffet breakfast, same stuff every day. Clean and spacious room but old taps made it very difficult to control temperature for basin and shower. For safety reasons, respectable hotel showers should all be thermostatically controlled these days. The towels were thin, the pillows were poor quality filled with foam chips and the drawer unit in the room had been replaced by a fridge. Had to keep all non-hangable things in our suitcase. Would have been plenty of room for a drawer unit. Hoped for better value in these respects at £100 per night. Recommended because of location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RHO Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RHO Hotel

Address: NES 05-23, 1012 KC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — RHO Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your RHO Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rho Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RHO Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.