We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location the jewel in this hotel's crown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hestia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hestia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hestia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Location the jewel in this hotel's crown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days Sept in Single room on 4th floor.. Observations as follows. LOCATION - Excellent - quiet street in a nice residential area (behind the Marriot Hotel) beside Vondlepark & 2-3 mins from Leidseplien & museum areas, 20 mins walk to Dam Sq or catch trams 1,2 or 5 from Leidsplien. STAFF - Very friendly & helpful. BREAKFAST - was OK - continental (cheese, meat, cereal, bread & tinned fruit salad, juice & coffee - would've been better with bowls of various fruit though ). ROOM - Small & compact (as are all in Amsterdam), Double bed which was comfortable, toilet / shower room, safe, 1 wardrobe, TV, Mini Bar (which I didn't use as there was a well stocked AH supermarket nearby), ceiling fan which was handy as was very humid. Bit disappointed no kettle or facility to make coffee or tea (which could be bought from reception) which would've been good & standard to me for the price paid. Cleanliness - ended up with couple of bed bug bites but that can happen in the cleanest of hotels too. SECURITY - Good - own key to get in after 12, window lock / fitting in room 37 was old & loose & could easily be broken but as room was on 4th floor, I wasn't too concerned unless Spiderman decided to break in.. VALUE - Average - disappointed but poss not the staffs fault, more website "Easytobook". Original initial price for 3 days was £169 / 197 euro, (late deal 1 day before arriving), final price (including 6% tax ) rose to 210 euro.. At hotel final price (adding 5.5% "city tax" ) rose to 233 euro / £203. I queried that 5.5% of 210 was 11.5 euro?. Staff stated that Easytobook display it wrongly & correct price was 233 euro?.. For a hotel of this standard I would normally only pay £50/55 per night Maximum so paying nearly £70 a night, after all the Easytobook "add on's" was I felt too much but time pressures meant booking was made but Easytobook should only display a correct final price & not a misleading one.. OVERALL - a nice little place in a great location but next time I would look elsewhere personally unless a better deal as hotel was not full.... Give it a try though..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    76
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
49
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A cute hotel.In a good location very calm place which is near to a very beautiful park and near to cruise offices.it has a small and beautiful garden.The stuff are very kind and helpful.Rooms are small but cute which is good for singles.services as WiFi is available foe free.You will feel as it is your own home.you will have the key of the main entrance to get in after 24:00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room is really small, but very clean with a mini bar fridge and a safe, maybe a bit expensive but we're in Amsterdam!
The hotel has four floors and a convenient elevator.
The breakfast offers a choice of ham, cheese, jam, chocolate, slices of bread and toast in a cozy location adjacent to a small courtyard garden.
The location is convenient, close to the center, Dam Square, VondelPark and to the main museums all within walking distance.
But the strong point of the hotel is definitely the kindness of the staff and the sweet cat, Candy, a great traveling companion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights.
We booked the small double room with a small queen bed and the room was actually really small, but after all quite confortable. Spaces within the room is pretty well organized. And also the bed is not so small. It is a standard queen bed in my opinion.
The hotel is in a four floor builiding, our room was in the fourth floor, but being there the lift we did not have any problem in bringing up and down our stuff.
Breakfast is simply but quite good. A lot of salty dishes, but jam and chocolate sauce are in any case available if you want a sweet breakfast.
Staff is really excellent. Very kind and supportive. Very precise in providing suggestions and informations.
Position is optimal! All the city actractions are at walkable distance. Very close to Vondelpark, Museumplein and Leidseplein. De Jordaan, Dam square, Red Light District are reachable with a 15 minutes walk.
What else? Oh I am forgotting Snoep (I do not know how it is written, it should mean Candy) the sweet cat you can meet in the hotel corridors. She will purr by just hearing the sound of your voice talking to her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a small hotel on a quiet street near Leidseplein and the Rijksmuseum, easily accessible by Bus 197 from Schiphol. My room, though small, was adequate for one person, very clean, and the mini bar fridge was nice to have. The breakfast room with small garden is pleasant with a filling choice of cheese, cold cuts, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and bread. If you are interested in the museums this is an excellent choice, 5 minutes away, and only a 20 minute walk to Dam Square. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hestia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.