We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, easy to get to from Schiphol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Hestia to your Saves list
Hotel Hestia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Texas
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel, easy to get to from Schiphol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a small hotel on a quiet street near Leidseplein and the Rijksmuseum, easily accessible by Bus 197 from Schiphol. My room, though small, was adequate for one person, very clean, and the mini bar fridge was nice to have. The breakfast room with small garden is pleasant with a filling choice of cheese, cold cuts, eggs, cereal, yogurt, and bread. If you are interested in the museums this is an excellent choice, 5 minutes away, and only a 20 minute walk to Dam Square. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    79
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
51
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff. Room was small but had everything I needed.
Good breakfast with excellent terrace. This hotel has the added advantage of having a lift, a real bonus in this type of hotel.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is on a quiet street just off Vondel Park (diagonal to tram street Overtoom and Nassaukade leading to Rijksmuseum). Stayed in a family room for one week, very spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room open to a sweet little garden where we even saw a hedghog one evening! Walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a tiny single room that was perfect for a couple of nights in the Museum District at a very affordable rate. Pleasant quiet location, friendly staff, good daily breakfast provided in a spacious room with a view of the backyard where wild parrots could be seen eating from a bird feeder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights at the end of May. It is well located for the museums, Vondelpark, canal boats and Leidseplein with its multitude of restaurants, bars and cafes. It is located down a side street so is quiet and peaceful at night.

They serve a good continental breakfast in the morning, with a choice of coffee and tea.

Our room was well presented and clean and a generous size for what you pay. Some have commented the stairs were steep, however this is the norm for buildings of this era in Amsterdam.

Staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help us.

There is a nice terrace area which we took advantage of when the weather was nice. The biggest plus of all, had to be the hotel cat (we never found out his name)

The only draw back was that we could not use the safe the entire time we were there, because the safe door would not open. This was reported to reception upon our arrival. Also the forgot to replaced our toilet roll so we had to ask for extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hestia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.