We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Hestia to your Saves list
Hotel Hestia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff. Room was small but had everything I needed.
Good breakfast with excellent terrace. This hotel has the added advantage of having a lift, a real bonus in this type of hotel.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is on a quiet street just off Vondel Park (diagonal to tram street Overtoom and Nassaukade leading to Rijksmuseum). Stayed in a family room for one week, very spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room open to a sweet little garden where we even saw a hedghog one evening! Walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeni25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a tiny single room that was perfect for a couple of nights in the Museum District at a very affordable rate. Pleasant quiet location, friendly staff, good daily breakfast provided in a spacious room with a view of the backyard where wild parrots could be seen eating from a bird feeder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights at the end of May. It is well located for the museums, Vondelpark, canal boats and Leidseplein with its multitude of restaurants, bars and cafes. It is located down a side street so is quiet and peaceful at night.

They serve a good continental breakfast in the morning, with a choice of coffee and tea.

Our room was well presented and clean and a generous size for what you pay. Some have commented the stairs were steep, however this is the norm for buildings of this era in Amsterdam.

Staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help us.

There is a nice terrace area which we took advantage of when the weather was nice. The biggest plus of all, had to be the hotel cat (we never found out his name)

The only draw back was that we could not use the safe the entire time we were there, because the safe door would not open. This was reported to reception upon our arrival. Also the forgot to replaced our toilet roll so we had to ask for extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita,GUAM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights while we visited the nearby museums. The stairway is very steep, as is all of Amsterdams, and there was a two person elevator that managed to make it up and down for our two days. The room was small and quite simple, the toilet clean and adequate once you got the hang of where to set the hot water faucet in the tub/shower. There were down filled duvets which made for a comfortable warm nights sleep. The breakfast was good with cereals, bacon,sausages,sliced meats,juices,breads, and eggs. The coffee was made to order and you received a small teapot with four cups for two. Overall, I will say that it is a bit overpriced for its age,modern-ness, and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Initial welcoming was a bit awkward but once the conversation started the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. We had a room right at the top (35) which you have to take the tiny 3man lift up...which feels like a lifetime. Nonetheless the room was small, cosy and clean, shower was a bit up and down and we didn’t know how to work the TV which wasn’t a bother...but for the location we enjoyed it.

A bonus was the breakfast, nothing crazy but enough for the energy hit and nice coffee which you will need in the morning after roaming the streets. We did find out our friends were staying in a new 1 bed apartment for the same price about a 10minute walk away but location wise this was very convenient, even to hop on the bus to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a good flowing shower. Stairs are tiny. Lift is slow but bearable. If you have a lot of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivintha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#139 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#157 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#9 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing