We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for museums, near to park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hestia to your Saves list
Hotel Hestia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location for museums, near to park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is on a quiet street just off Vondel Park (diagonal to tram street Overtoom and Nassaukade leading to Rijksmuseum). Stayed in a family room for one week, very spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and served in a pleasant room open to a sweet little garden where we even saw a hedghog one evening! Walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
50
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a tiny single room that was perfect for a couple of nights in the Museum District at a very affordable rate. Pleasant quiet location, friendly staff, good daily breakfast provided in a spacious room with a view of the backyard where wild parrots could be seen eating from a bird feeder.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights at the end of May. It is well located for the museums, Vondelpark, canal boats and Leidseplein with its multitude of restaurants, bars and cafes. It is located down a side street so is quiet and peaceful at night.

They serve a good continental breakfast in the morning, with a choice of coffee and tea.

Our room was well presented and clean and a generous size for what you pay. Some have commented the stairs were steep, however this is the norm for buildings of this era in Amsterdam.

Staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help us.

There is a nice terrace area which we took advantage of when the weather was nice. The biggest plus of all, had to be the hotel cat (we never found out his name)

The only draw back was that we could not use the safe the entire time we were there, because the safe door would not open. This was reported to reception upon our arrival. Also the forgot to replaced our toilet roll so we had to ask for extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rita,GUAM
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights while we visited the nearby museums. The stairway is very steep, as is all of Amsterdams, and there was a two person elevator that managed to make it up and down for our two days. The room was small and quite simple, the toilet clean and adequate once you got the hang of where to set the hot water faucet in the tub/shower. There were down filled duvets which made for a comfortable warm nights sleep. The breakfast was good with cereals, bacon,sausages,sliced meats,juices,breads, and eggs. The coffee was made to order and you received a small teapot with four cups for two. Overall, I will say that it is a bit overpriced for its age,modern-ness, and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Initial welcoming was a bit awkward but once the conversation started the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. We had a room right at the top (35) which you have to take the tiny 3man lift up...which feels like a lifetime. Nonetheless the room was small, cosy and clean, shower was a bit up and down and we didn’t know how to work the TV which wasn’t a bother...but for the location we enjoyed it.

A bonus was the breakfast, nothing crazy but enough for the energy hit and nice coffee which you will need in the morning after roaming the streets. We did find out our friends were staying in a new 1 bed apartment for the same price about a 10minute walk away but location wise this was very convenient, even to hop on the bus to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a good flowing shower. Stairs are tiny. Lift is slow but bearable. If you have a lot of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a comfortable and cozy stay here. The room itself and bathroom was small, but nonetheless still comfortable and adequate. I always found my room had been cleaned every day. The included breakfast was very good, and hot drinks were made for you there and then. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to give me much advice on directions and which attractions to visit. The hotel itself is situated very close to the lively Leideseplein, but is located down a quiet side street a few minutes walk from the beautiful Vondelpark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hestia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hestia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.