We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy worn down room and dirty bathroom and moldy smell of curtains and bedsheets” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Borgmann Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Borgmann Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Borgmann Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Drammen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Filthy worn down room and dirty bathroom and moldy smell of curtains and bedsheets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The location of the hotel is not bad, close to tramline #2 and next to quiet Vondelpark, but cleanliness and smell of the room together with the missing facilities made this a bad experience. The hotel facilities was supposed to include: Balcony (not that this is important), Wlan (only in the reception area and at a cost of €10/24hrs), In-room safe (broken in our room). The lack of these facilities in it self is not crucial for the stay, but together with the filthy smelly room, made this a non recommendable hotel. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
21
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I really loved this hotel it was in a beautiful spot behind Vodelpark, it may be a bit outside the "fun zone" but the tram is so near and easy to use it won't bother you at all (actually you could just take a walk for is not THAT far). The personal was very nice and helpful and the place was spacious and neat!
The only buzz killer was the price for the breakfast (12€!?!) and for the wi-fi (10€x/day) but I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We booked this hotel for 2 weeks and after 8 days we had to move to the apartment, which we rented because we needed to stay in Amsterdam longer. We told owner that we whould leave 3 days in advance, but he çlaimed that we have to pay for 14 days of stay anyway and treatened us by police (!) in case we will not pay him in full. The owner of the hotel was trembling in a rage (!) when he spoke to us. No compromise arrangement or partial payment for 6 days was offerred. We found it is very unfriendly, rude and unprofessional. We will tell our contacts in The Neterhlands to stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel was great. It was right near a beautiful park and the surrounding area was very quiet. It is a little far from most of the things to do in Amsterdam, so if you want to stay closer to the action, I wouldn't recommend this place. However, if you want a quiet night's sleep in a comfortable bed, this is the place for you. We had a wonderful and large room with a bay window and tons of place.

If you stay here and did not rent a car, I would recommend taking the tram. We took the canal bus and it was pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Locates besides tranquil & lovely "Vondel Park".
wake up with bird song.....perfect and amazing
comfortable room, enough space, cleanliness
10min. walk 2 supermarket "ah"
15min. walk 2 museum square.....Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum Amsterdam
shortcut & easy walk into Vondel Park 2 Leidse square
easyly find the canal cruise 70min. EUR13(Blue boat...just opposite Hard Rock cafe)
friendly Russian owner.
fair value 2 the room/facility incl. breaky
how2get.......Schipol AP >> Centraal >> Emmastraat
from Centraal station....take tram #2, roughly 20 min. EUR 2.60
3min. walk 2 the tram #2 stop"Emmastraat"

purpose: Van Gogh museum.... sightseeing, canal city
single use in 3 beds room.....no vacant in my stay

A few suggestions here......
toast at breakfast .....everytime you can ask the owner
do not expect concierge services.....ask what U need when arrive at Schipol AP
Information in Schipol AP are awesome.......and extremely helpful 2 tourist
>>> JPN comment here......
あり得ない静寂、鳥のさえずりによる目覚め
緑豊かなフォンデル公園わきにたたずむボーグマンヴィラホテル( プチホテル )
フォンデル公園の通路を起点として活動すると便利
ヴァンゴッホなど美術館へ徒歩圏内
快適さを重視するあなたへ。。。

reviewed by Hiro, Kamakura JPN

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This hotel has such a wonderful location! My single room had a fantastic view over the Park and there was such a quiet and relaxing atmosphere! The staff is lovely, and they stop the lift at night times so that people can have a proper night sleep. The room was cosy and comfortable, clean and functional. I had a very nice staying, indeed. I did not have breakfast in the hotel (it costs extra 12€ ) but in nearby cafes. The room itself is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

A brilliant hotel located 15 mins tram ride from central station. It has great character and the pricing was reasonable. I recommend it to all! The owners were even kind enough to keep our baggage in storage for 2 days while we visited a surrounding township. Very friendly service. Internet connection was expensive but managed to pick up numerous unlocked WiFi connections from other residence!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgmann Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgmann Villa Hotel

Address: Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgmann Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgmann Villa Hotel is old brick villa with large windows, tastefully modernised with pale decor, located in quiet leafy area, right on the border of the Vondel Park (Amsterdam's most famous park with a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking. A little distant from city-center attractions, more suitable for longer holiday or those seeking tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgmann Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgmann Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.