We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's not worth the cost” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Borgmann Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Borgmann Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Borgmann Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it's not worth the cost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is expensive for what you can get. Not clean. Very old towels ( some even rotten). When we arrived we could feel the room was dusty. I would never come back. In front of the hotel they display garbage waiting to be collect by municipality. Expensive and bad hotel. To say the least.

Room Tip: Ask if they will clean the room before your arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
18
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for a basic hotel with a great location, this is an excellent choice. It's not fancy or particularly up to date. But it has everything you need if your goal is to explore Amsterdam & not hang out in your room.

First, the location is fantastic--the breakfast room looks out onto a small canal and the Vondelpark, If you have kids, there are playgrounds, a large tree house, and acres of fields where they can play. If you run, a 10K is 3 laps around the park. it's located in a quiet residential neighborhood--there are no bars or large groups of tourists. The only noise was a neighbor's dog that occasionally barked. The #1, 2, and 16 tram to downtown are all within a 7 minute walk. Schipol is about 35 minutes by tram and train--very easy.

The beds are a bit soft, but we still slept very well all 3 nights. No problems with noise from neighboring rooms.

The best breakfast option is in the hotel. There really aren't any breakfast places nearby (that open before 9 or 10am) except for Toasty, which ended up costing about the same as the 12 Euro hotel breakfast.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Spent 2 nights with a friend in this very cosy house. Steep stairs, tipical in Amsterdam...elevator available for lazy or tired travelers! Nice rooms, quite good bathroom. Kind personnel. Suggested for short staying in town.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just needed a hotel for a one night stay in Amsterdam.
The hotel is nicely located in a stately, quiet neighbourhood next to a park.
The room was very small and the bed too soft & too small.
Also the shower was kind of antique.
Overall € 110 (incl. tax) was way too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This quaint little hotel is set just off the lovely picturesque Vondelpark, you can be in the park in literally 20 seconds walk from leaving the hotel. I had on the the (very small) back room which overlooked the park, the view was beautiful which overlooked the park and a nice little stream at the back of the hotel. My only gripe with this room was that is was very small indeed - the smallest room I have ever stayed in, the bed was just about big enough for me at 6 feet 1 and there was just enough room to stand up in the room itself. Please don't be put off by this though as everything was lovely and cosy and all the amenities were available such as TV, en-suite shower and safe, if you aren't going to be spending much time in the room then I suppose this doesn't matter too much. Also I paid quite a lot of money for this tiny room - £320 for 4 nights which I though was a little expensive considering the size of the room and that breakfast was not included in this price, it may have been that it was this price due to the park view that I had but I did notice that the other rooms without a park view were considerably larger than mine. Hotel staff were charming and welcoming and always more than happy to have a chat or assist with anything you may want to know. The hotel is very small with a medium sized breakfast room serving basic cereal and toast so nothing to write home about there really, The housekeeping of the rooms was good and always on time and unlike other hotels that I've stayed in the housekeeping staff were pretty quiet about their business which meant that if you wanted a lie in bed you could without being woken up. There is also a tram stop about 5 minutes walk which will take you into the City Centre and costs about 2 euros but you can buy a 24/48hr pass which works out a good deal. There's an array of upmarket restaurants and bars close by if you want an evening meal and also the Albert Heijn supermarket is 10 minutes walk from the hotel so you can stock up on groceries. All in all a delightful little hotel in a perfect location, just a shame I was charged so much for a very small room but I would certainly stay here again. One last thing that I though was great was that I could sleep with the window open every night and all I could hear was birds from the park (with the exception of a few people in the park). 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: Park view rooms on 1st and 2nd floor give the best view but come at a price and are very small in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Set right on Vondelpark just a short stroll away from all the action, this small hotel is a perfect way to relax after the hustle of Amsterdam. The rooms are a good size and the people that run the hotel are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a four day visit to Amsterdam booked at short notice. We needed a room for three people but most places charged silly money. After much searching I found villa Borgmann and decided to take a chance. We arrived two hours before check in time but the room was ready so it was not a problem. The room was at the front of the hotel and was not the biggest of rooms, but perfectly adequate. The beds were comfortable and the en suite had a lovely large bath you could really relax in -just as well considering all the walking we did!

There was parking in front of the hotel although it was rather expensive. The alternative is to park in the park and ride about a mile away for a third of the cost, but I would rather have the car where i can keep an eye on it, rather than a long way away in an open parking area.

Breakfast in the hotel was typically continental, with meat, cheese, bread, eggs, fruit, and yoghurt. Perfectly adequate. There is a pleasant walk through the park ( behind the hotel ) to the city, or you can stroll a few hundred yards to the tram stop. Trams are very frequent and you can buy a ticket for one or more days, so it's just a case of hoping on and off whenever you want. A great way to get around.

Everyone in Amsterdam is very friendly and helpful, and that goes for the staff at the hotel as well. Would I stay there again? You bet I would, and I would happily recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel and speak to them rather than relying on the booking websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgmann Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgmann Villa Hotel

Address: Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgmann Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgmann Villa Hotel is old brick villa with large windows, tastefully modernised with pale decor, located in quiet leafy area, right on the border of the Vondel Park (Amsterdam's most famous park with a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking. A little distant from city-center attractions, more suitable for longer holiday or those seeking tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgmann Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgmann Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.