We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and quiet in a beautiful area of the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgmann Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Borgmann Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Borgmann Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and quiet in a beautiful area of the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This quaint little hotel is set just off the lovely picturesque Vondelpark, you can be in the park in literally 20 seconds walk from leaving the hotel. I had on the the (very small) back room which overlooked the park, the view was beautiful which overlooked the park and a nice little stream at the back of the hotel. My only gripe with this room was that is was very small indeed - the smallest room I have ever stayed in, the bed was just about big enough for me at 6 feet 1 and there was just enough room to stand up in the room itself. Please don't be put off by this though as everything was lovely and cosy and all the amenities were available such as TV, en-suite shower and safe, if you aren't going to be spending much time in the room then I suppose this doesn't matter too much. Also I paid quite a lot of money for this tiny room - £320 for 4 nights which I though was a little expensive considering the size of the room and that breakfast was not included in this price, it may have been that it was this price due to the park view that I had but I did notice that the other rooms without a park view were considerably larger than mine. Hotel staff were charming and welcoming and always more than happy to have a chat or assist with anything you may want to know. The hotel is very small with a medium sized breakfast room serving basic cereal and toast so nothing to write home about there really, The housekeeping of the rooms was good and always on time and unlike other hotels that I've stayed in the housekeeping staff were pretty quiet about their business which meant that if you wanted a lie in bed you could without being woken up. There is also a tram stop about 5 minutes walk which will take you into the City Centre and costs about 2 euros but you can buy a 24/48hr pass which works out a good deal. There's an array of upmarket restaurants and bars close by if you want an evening meal and also the Albert Heijn supermarket is 10 minutes walk from the hotel so you can stock up on groceries. All in all a delightful little hotel in a perfect location, just a shame I was charged so much for a very small room but I would certainly stay here again. One last thing that I though was great was that I could sleep with the window open every night and all I could hear was birds from the park (with the exception of a few people in the park). 7 out of 10.

Room Tip: Park view rooms on 1st and 2nd floor give the best view but come at a price and are very small in co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
28
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Set right on Vondelpark just a short stroll away from all the action, this small hotel is a perfect way to relax after the hustle of Amsterdam. The rooms are a good size and the people that run the hotel are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a four day visit to Amsterdam booked at short notice. We needed a room for three people but most places charged silly money. After much searching I found villa Borgmann and decided to take a chance. We arrived two hours before check in time but the room was ready so it was not a problem. The room was at the front of the hotel and was not the biggest of rooms, but perfectly adequate. The beds were comfortable and the en suite had a lovely large bath you could really relax in -just as well considering all the walking we did!

There was parking in front of the hotel although it was rather expensive. The alternative is to park in the park and ride about a mile away for a third of the cost, but I would rather have the car where i can keep an eye on it, rather than a long way away in an open parking area.

Breakfast in the hotel was typically continental, with meat, cheese, bread, eggs, fruit, and yoghurt. Perfectly adequate. There is a pleasant walk through the park ( behind the hotel ) to the city, or you can stroll a few hundred yards to the tram stop. Trams are very frequent and you can buy a ticket for one or more days, so it's just a case of hoping on and off whenever you want. A great way to get around.

Everyone in Amsterdam is very friendly and helpful, and that goes for the staff at the hotel as well. Would I stay there again? You bet I would, and I would happily recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel and speak to them rather than relying on the booking websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Found this hotel on wotif.com and found great value for money, stayed for 1 night. Room was a decent size, clean and shower was good. Hotel is fairly old, but was kept clean and everything in the room worked. There is a lift in the building. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and time was taken to explain lots about the area. It is a 5 minute walk to the tram stop and then about 15 minute ride into Dam Square. Our accommodation didn't include breakfast but there were quite a few brasseries within walking distance. We also had a walk around Vondelpark which was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let's say that a total refurbish would not harm it. I cannot tell it was dirty, but an old moquette in the room does not allow to say the opposite either.

On the other side, the hotel is located in a lovely and rich neighborhood just across the Vondel park. It is quiet, relaxing and elegant. Another side of Amsterdam.
The attendee who welcomed us was funny, helpful and friendly: he listed some funny rules such as the reception closing down at (I guess) 23:00. He explained we would not have to disturb him after that time, since he was literally living and sleeping in the reception's back-office. Also the elevator needed to be turned off in night time, as nobody could have rescued if blocked in.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very pleasant two-night stay at this hotel. It is practically around the corner from the Vondel Park, which was nice when going for a run in the morning. It's also away from the city center, but it's only a 5 minute ride back.

The hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was a three-person room and a fourth bed was brought in. There was a small tv and a small fridge. There was also a small safe, which you have to pay for, but didn't find out about the extra charge (€1, no big deal) until we checked out. We were very comfortable and the bathroom was fine (be careful not to trip though!). We went out for breakfast each morning, so can't say anything about that.

The hotel is in walking distance from the #2 tram stop, which takes you by the Rijksmuseum, close to the Van Gogh Museum, and the Leidse Plein, two popular destinations. There are also some nice places to eat a few blocks from the hotel (we can recommend the bakery near the tram stop!). It also takes you all the way to the Amsterdam Central train station. Convenient all the way around! We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was a nice quiet stay.. enjoyed walking to the city centre.. and the park behind "Vondelpark" was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#156 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#181 of 322 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgmann Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgmann Villa Hotel

Address: Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgmann Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgmann Villa Hotel is old brick villa with large windows, tastefully modernised with pale decor, located in quiet leafy area, right on the border of the Vondel Park (Amsterdam's most famous park with a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking. A little distant from city-center attractions, more suitable for longer holiday or those seeking tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Borgmann Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgmann Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.