We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nice as potentially nice, if only...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borgmann Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Borgmann Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Borgmann Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 319 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As nice as potentially nice, if only...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Let's say that a total refurbish would not harm it. I cannot tell it was dirty, but an old moquette in the room does not allow to say the opposite either.

On the other side, the hotel is located in a lovely and rich neighborhood just across the Vondel park. It is quiet, relaxing and elegant. Another side of Amsterdam.
The attendee who welcomed us was funny, helpful and friendly: he listed some funny rules such as the reception closing down at (I guess) 23:00. He explained we would not have to disturb him after that time, since he was literally living and sleeping in the reception's back-office. Also the elevator needed to be turned off in night time, as nobody could have rescued if blocked in.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
24
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very pleasant two-night stay at this hotel. It is practically around the corner from the Vondel Park, which was nice when going for a run in the morning. It's also away from the city center, but it's only a 5 minute ride back.

The hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was a three-person room and a fourth bed was brought in. There was a small tv and a small fridge. There was also a small safe, which you have to pay for, but didn't find out about the extra charge (€1, no big deal) until we checked out. We were very comfortable and the bathroom was fine (be careful not to trip though!). We went out for breakfast each morning, so can't say anything about that.

The hotel is in walking distance from the #2 tram stop, which takes you by the Rijksmuseum, close to the Van Gogh Museum, and the Leidse Plein, two popular destinations. There are also some nice places to eat a few blocks from the hotel (we can recommend the bakery near the tram stop!). It also takes you all the way to the Amsterdam Central train station. Convenient all the way around! We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was a nice quiet stay.. enjoyed walking to the city centre.. and the park behind "Vondelpark" was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel overlooks Vondelpark. It is in a quiet neighborhood next to the British consulate. The management is responsive and try each time to make sure I am taken care of. It is a little pricy for the size of the room, but balconies are not that easy to find in the city, and especially not ones with such a peaceful, verdant view. If you are a smoker looking for a peaceful terrace to chill on, this is it.

Room Tip: As long as I'm not there, room #24 is the one to book. Only two rooms have the terrace, and this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a lovely old, boutique hotel which offered value for money.The staff were very friendly and helpful with information about the city, breakfast was a bit hit and miss and was not offered before 8am even though the sign on the desk said 7am during the week, early starts were just not their thing. Very handy to the No.2 tram which went past a number of major attractions and museums about 15mins ride to Central station, overlooks Vondel park where you can walk and bike ride until late in the evening in safety.Best of all it was in a quiet location.

Room Tip: Single rooms are VERY small, OK if you only intend to stay one or two nights, any more than two nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel in a really beautiful location in Amsterdam. It's an expensive neighbourhood, so I never felt like I was in a notorious neighbourhood and had to be careful. Even the cabbie said it was definitely one of the more posch areas. there is a really beautiful park nearby. It's about a ten minute walk from the van gogh museum and maybe a 45 minute walk to the center of Amsterdam. It's close to the tram and by tram it would probably take 10 minutes to get in to the city.

The room itself was lovely and quite large. I was a single person but theY gave me a room with a double and single bed. The bathroom was also large and comfortable (and believe me that is very rare in Europe). It was certainly very clean.

The service was great. I got there before the check in time and the nice lady at the reception let me leave my luggage there and then gave me full instructions on how to get in to the city and locate the hotel on a map. She spoke very fluent English (as do most people in amsterdam).

I really don't have anything negative to say about this place. It was good value given the high level of comfort and beautiful location. I paid 99 euro and went there at the end of march.

I will definitely be staying here when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very nice hotel located on Vondel p[ark about a 20 minutes walk from the center of town. Clean rooms, typical Dutch breakfast & fair priced. Location is everything.

Room Tip: get a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgmann Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgmann Villa Hotel

Address: Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgmann Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgmann Villa Hotel is old brick villa with large windows, tastefully modernised with pale decor, located in quiet leafy area, right on the border of the Vondel Park (Amsterdam's most famous park with a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking. A little distant from city-center attractions, more suitable for longer holiday or those seeking tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgmann Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgmann Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.