We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet arean in front of the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borgmann Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Borgmann Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Borgmann Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Kiev
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet arean in front of the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Location is perfect as well as the staff. Building in general needs some improvements, especially windows and shower head at least in my room. Refreshing the common areas also will not hurt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
22
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights on a single room.i liked the location- very quiet and calm right on vondel park-very close to tram station. Around 20 minutes walk to leidseplain or less then 10 minutes by bike. Nice to come back at the end of the dat to the quiet hotel. The singel room was very small with hardly enough space for suitcase.the shower had lo pressure water,and when sit on the toilet my legs touch the shower wall.everyday i got a clean room.did not take the breakfast- many cafe's and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely quiet neighborhood next to the Vodelpark and our rooms were very nice and clean. The staff person was very friendly. The tram and nearest grocery store, coffee and restaurants are 4-6 blocks away from the hotel and the park. A couple things just to point out. There is no free wii-fi (there is free internet at the front desk if your device has a USB port and cable). The hotel breakfast at 12 euros was a bit spendy for what you got. They had a nice table out back by the stream (we were disappointed that they only had 3 chairs although we asked for additional). They do not have air conditioning and with no screens on the window it would get a big buggy at night when the room lights were on.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The location of the hotel is not bad, close to tramline #2 and next to quiet Vondelpark, but cleanliness and smell of the room together with the missing facilities made this a bad experience. The hotel facilities was supposed to include: Balcony (not that this is important), Wlan (only in the reception area and at a cost of €10/24hrs), In-room safe (broken in our room). The lack of these facilities in it self is not crucial for the stay, but together with the filthy smelly room, made this a non recommendable hotel. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I really loved this hotel it was in a beautiful spot behind Vodelpark, it may be a bit outside the "fun zone" but the tram is so near and easy to use it won't bother you at all (actually you could just take a walk for is not THAT far). The personal was very nice and helpful and the place was spacious and neat!
The only buzz killer was the price for the breakfast (12€!?!) and for the wi-fi (10€x/day) but I would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We booked this hotel for 2 weeks and after 8 days we had to move to the apartment, which we rented because we needed to stay in Amsterdam longer. We told owner that we whould leave 3 days in advance, but he çlaimed that we have to pay for 14 days of stay anyway and treatened us by police (!) in case we will not pay him in full. The owner of the hotel was trembling in a rage (!) when he spoke to us. No compromise arrangement or partial payment for 6 days was offerred. We found it is very unfriendly, rude and unprofessional. We will tell our contacts in The Neterhlands to stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel was great. It was right near a beautiful park and the surrounding area was very quiet. It is a little far from most of the things to do in Amsterdam, so if you want to stay closer to the action, I wouldn't recommend this place. However, if you want a quiet night's sleep in a comfortable bed, this is the place for you. We had a wonderful and large room with a bay window and tons of place.

If you stay here and did not rent a car, I would recommend taking the tram. We took the canal bus and it was pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgmann Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgmann Villa Hotel

Address: Koningslaan 48, 1075 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgmann Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgmann Villa Hotel is old brick villa with large windows, tastefully modernised with pale decor, located in quiet leafy area, right on the border of the Vondel Park (Amsterdam's most famous park with a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, hiking, jogging and picnicking. A little distant from city-center attractions, more suitable for longer holiday or those seeking tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgmann Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgmann Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.