We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hegra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hegra Hotel to your Saves list
Hegra Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #120 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes, the rooms are smallish, but most of the hotels in these old buildings are. This was our third trip to Amsterdam and this was not the smallest we've been in. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are remodeled and great. Our room (#7) was in the back and very quiet. The stairs are very steep and narrow, but most of the hotels in older buildings have steep stairs. Breakfast is OJ, softish boiled eggs, hard rolls, croissants, cheese, ham, yogurt,cereal, coffee or tea. It is an easy walk to most places and the streetcar is a block away. My only complaint was the mattress, which was lumpy and needs replaced. There is I sign in the bathroom stating they will only replace the towels if you leave them on the floor (for ecological reasons). If you want clean towels, follow the directions,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    92
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westyat7000
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Hegra Hotel in Amsterdam. It was a great stay. We were in room number 10, top floor facing the canal. The room was very clean and fairly spacious, and the bathroom was newly remodeled.

We arrived early, and the hotel allowed us to store our bags while we went out to get some lunch. When we arrived back at the hotel to check in, our bags were waiting for us in the room.

I did not get the mans name who was at the front desk while we were there, but he was incredibly helpful. He truly went above and beyond to help us out.

The stairs are steep! I do not find this out of the ordinary for this type of European hotel.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

4 of us stayed here for 4 nights in september. We paid £790 between us. The room was tiny with no wardrobes so we had to live out our cases. The room was only big enough for a couple. The first night we never got a winks sleep as there was a party going on in the house nextdoor. Me and another guy were bitten alive with bed bugs. I actually saw them and was nearly sick. Floor was filthy. Bathroom was tiny. Good location but thats it. My bites are just clearing up now a week on. I never booked this place but thinking back we should have asked to see room first. The beds as someone else said were so thin you had to watch when you turned or u were on the floor. Dirty Dirty rooms. My girlfriend thought i had some sort of disease when she seen all the bites. I had several on my head and at one point thought it had burrowed in and was still there. Bathed in tcp and aplied savlon for a week. Angry i paid to get bitten.

Room Tip: Wherever you go ask to see room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Hegra in room 7. The room was the smallest we have ever stayed in over 25 years of traveling in Europe, 150 sq ft maybe. No closets so could not unpack bags. The bed had a foam mattress so that there was no support on the outside edges and you basically had to huddle together in the middle in order to not fall off the bed. She is 110lbs and I'm 165lbs so not a weight problem. Bathroom was small with only a sink the width of my hand. Staircase would challenge a good mountain climber. All for about 300 a night, Wow what fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good location.

The rooms are the smallest I have ever seen, but were clean. The staff could have been more friendly, but overall the hotel was ok.

We only stayed for a couple of days, but they did not change our towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrrived few minutes after 11pm and since the reception was just closed we ring the bell indicated on the door. The owner (probably on the phone diverted from the ring) told us we were late, it was not his problem (although we paid, we arrived and the room was free and allocate to us), he didnt care and we should find another hotel. Very arrogant, no consideration, absolutely not guest oriented. Luckily the guy in charge of the reception until 11pm woke up , opened the door and gave us our room. The room is very small. Quite central located. Highest rate/square room in my entire life. Not to reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamBart, Eigenaar at Hegra Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are sorry to that you had to wait to get in the hotel, but you have understand that for a small hotel with only 9 rooms its not possible to have a 24 hours reception. we make that very clear by the reservation, and always ask the guest for the arriveltime, you added a arrivel at 14.00h, if you contacted the hotel by phone or mail of your late arrivel we could wait for you instead report it as a no-show, however we managed to give you a room after midnight wich unfortanally did not mach your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel Hegra is reasonably priced hotel in a great location off the Herengracht canal. It is walking distance to many attractions although I recommend renting a bike. This is not a high rise modern building so do not expect elevators or many amenities. The stairwells a tight but you truly get the feeling of Amsterdam staying at the Hotel Hegra. They do provide free wifi and offer breakfast for additional costs. Overall the room was clean and the bathroom (all be it small) had good water pressure and a hair dryer. We happen to stay in a quad room with 3 people which provided a nice amount of space. I would stay at Hotel Hegra again but would not recommend this hotel for anyone who has trouble with stairs or wants to be in the hussle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#166 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,342 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hegra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hegra Hotel

Address: Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hegra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is completely renovated this year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hegra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hegra Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hegra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.